Wednesday, 30 October 2013


The nominations for the 2013 International Documentary Association awards have been announced, and I'm pleased to note that my favourite doc of the year, The Act of Killing, is on the list for Best Feature, alongside four other high profile, acclaimed documentary features. Winners will be announced in a ceremony on the 6th of December, as if I won't already have enough awards reporting to do then. Encouragingly, three of the films nominated for Best Feature were directed by women, and another one was co-directed by at least one woman. Alex Gibney, nominated for We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks, will receive the Career Achievement Award, Geralyn Dreyfous the Amicus Award, Laura Poitras the Courage Under Fire Award and Zachary Heinzerling the Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

Best Feature
The Act of Killing (Torstein Grude, Werner Herzog, Errol Morris, Joshua Oppenheimer, Andre Singer, Signe Byrge Sorensen, Joram ten Brink and Bjarte Morner Tveit)
Blackfish (Judy Bart, Gabriela Cowperthwaite, Eli Despres, Erica Kahn and Manuel V. Oteyza)
Let the Fire Burn (Andrew Herwitz and Jason Osder)
Stories We Tell (Anita Lee and Sarah Polley)
The Square (Karim Amer and Jehane Noujaim)

Best Short
The Education of Muhammad Hussein (Sara Bernstein, Heidi Ewing, Rachel Grady, Sheila Nevins and Sadia Shepard)
The Flogsta Roar (Asa Blanck and Johan Palmgren)
Nine to Ninety (Alicia Dwyer, Sally Jo Fifer and Juli Vizza)
Slomo (Josh Izenberg and Amanda Micheli)
Vultures of Tibet (Russell O. Bush, Gary Newsom and Elisabeth Oakham)

ABCNews Videosource Award
All the President's Men Revisited (Chana Gazit, Andy Lack, Laura Michalchyshyn, Patrick Prentice, Robert Redford and Peter Schnall)
Free Angela and All Political Prisoners (Carole Lambert, Shola Lynch, Carine Ruszniewski and Sidra Smith)
Let the Fire Burn (Andrew Herwitz and Jason Osder)
The Trials of Muhammad Ali (Leon Gast, Justine Nagan, Rachel Pikelny, Gordon Quinn, Bill Siegel and Kat White)
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks (Alex Gibney and Mark Shmuger)

Humanitas Award
Anton's Right Here (Lyubov Arkus, Evgeniya Blaze, Aleksandra Golutova, Sergey Selyanov and Konstantin Shavlovsky)
Blood Brother (Leigh Blake, John Carlin, Kathy Dziubek, Phihenas Hodges, Steve Hoover, Michael Killen, Jim Kreitzburg, Tyson VanSkiver and Danny Yourd)
Let the Fire Burn (Andrew Herwitz and Jason Osder)
The Square (Karim Amer and Jehane Noujaim)

Pare Lorentz Award
A Place at the Table (Julie Goldman, Ryan Harrington, Kirsti Jacobson and Lori Silverbush)

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
Between Land and Sea (Sarah Berkovich and J. Christian Jensen)
My Sister Sarah (Elizabeth Chatelain)
Ome: Tales from a Vanishing Homeland (Raul O. Paz Pastrana and Emily Parkey)
Sodiq (Adeyemi Michael)
Why We Race (Andrew Evers, Ben Fischinger, Kiley Vorndran and Ryan Westra)