Monday, 9 December 2013


Neither of the films which lead the nominations for the Detroit Film Critics Society nominations possess both mentions for Best Picture and for Best Director; American Hustle misses out on Picture while Short Term 12 (with five apiece) joins 12 Years a Slave and Before Midnight in missing out on Director nominations. Perhaps this is a race between the two Best Picture nominees which did not - Gravity and Her, both of which are currently proving themselves to be formidable award contenders this year. An eclectic selection from a smaller group, so don't expect much blowback. Winners are set to be decided this Friday, the 13th of December.

Best Picture

·          12 Years a Slave
·          Before Midnight
·          Gravity
·          Her
·          Short Term 12

Best Director
·          Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
·          Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips)
·          Spike Jonze (Her)
·          David O. Russell (American Hustle)
·          Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Actor
·          Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
·          Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
·          Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)
·          Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
·          Robert Redford (All Is Lost)

Best Actress
·          Amy Adams (American Hustle)
·          Julie Delpy (Before Midnight)
·          Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Colour)
·          Brie Larson (Short Term 12)
·          Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

Best Supporting Actor
·          Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
·          James Franco (Spring Breakers)
·          Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)
·          Matthew McConaughey (Mud)
·          Stanley Tucci (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)

Best Supporting Actress
·          Scarlett Johansson (Her)
·          Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
·          Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
·          Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
·          June Squibb (Nebraska)

Best Screenplay
·          Destin Cretton (Short Term 12)
·          Spike Jonze (Her)
·          Richard Linklater (Before Midnight)
·          David O. Russell and Eric Singer (American Hustle)
·          Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Ensemble
·          12 Years a Slave
·          American Hustle
·          August: Osage County
·          Blue Jasmine
·          The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Documentary
·          The Act of Killing
·          Blackfish
·          The Square
·          Stories We Tell
·          The Unknown Known

Best Breakthrough
·          Lake Bell (In a World…)
·          Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station)
·          Destin Cretton (Short Term 12)
·          Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station)
·          Brie Larson (Short Term 12)

No comments:

Post a Comment