Tuesday, 17 December 2013


Get some of this! The London Critics' Circle nominations this year ought to please just about any and all cinephiles. European critics continue to get The Great Beauty, while Americans are too busy creaming their panties over American Hustle. What I love most about the LCC's choices here, though, is how they're still able to recognise quality filmmaking in films which don't make the cut in main categories - just like American Hustle, whose Jennifer Lawrence (in Supporting Actress) and Judy Becker (for her production design in the Technical Achievement category) are nominated. And just when you thought The Wolf of Wall Street was truly about to get utterly nowhere, along comes another group which seems to have massively enjoyed it.

Film of the Year

·          12 Years a Slave
·          Blue Is the Warmest Colour
·          Blue Jasmine
·          Frances Ha
·          Gravity
·          The Great Beauty
·          Her
·          Inside Llewyn Davis
·          Nebraska
·          The Wolf of Wall Street

Director of the Year
·          Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
·          Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips)
·          Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
·          Paolo Sorrentino (The Great Beauty)
·          Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Actor of the Year
·          Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
·          Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
·          Michael Douglas (Behind the Candelabra)
·          Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
·          Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)

Actress of the Year
·          Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
·          Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
·          Judi Dench (Philomena)
·          Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Colour)
·          Greta Gerwig (Frances Ha)

Supporting Actor of the Year
·          Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
·          Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
·          James Gandolfini (Enough Said)
·          Tom Hanks (Saving Mr. Banks)
·          Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Supporting Actress of the Year
·          Naomie Harris (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom)
·          Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
·          Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
·          Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
·          June Squibb (Nebraska)

Screenwriter of the Year
·          Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Inside Llewyn Davis)
·          Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (Philomena)
·          Spike Jonze (Her)
·          John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)
·          Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Technical Achievement Award
·          Judy Becker – production design (American Hustle)
·          Sean Bobbitt – cinematography (12 Years a Slave)
·          T-Bone Burnett – music (Inside Llewyn Davis)
·          Howard Cummings – production design (Behind the Candelabra)
·          Mark Eckersley – editing (Filth)
·          Sam Levy – cinematography (Frances Ha)
·          Johnny Marshall – sound design (Upstream Colour)
·          Bart Mueller and Kurt Swanson – costumes (Stoker)
·          Trish Summerville – costumes (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)
·          Tim Webber – visual effects (Gravity)

Documentary of the Year
·          The Act of Killing
·          Beware of Mr. Baker
·          Leviathan
·          Stories We Tell
·          We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks

Foreign-Language Film of the Year
·          Blue Is the Warmest Colour
·          Caesar Must Die
·          Gloria
·          The Great Beauty
·          A Hijacking

British Film of the Year
·          A Field in England
·          Filth
·          Philomena
·          Rush
·          The Selfish Giant

British Actor of the Year
·          Christian Bale (American Hustle / Out of the Furnace)
·          Steve Coogan (Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa / The Look of Love / Philomena / What Maisie Knew)
·          Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
·          Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave / The Counsellor)
·          James McAvoy (Filth / Trance / Welcome to the Punch)

British Actress of the Year
·          Judi Dench (Philomena)
·          Lindsay Duncan (About Time / Last Passenger / Le Week-End)
·          Naomie Harris (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom)
·          Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
·          Emma Thompson (Beautiful Creatures / Saving Mr. Banks)

Breakthrough British Filmmaker
·          Jon S. Baird (Filth)
·          Scott Graham (Shell)
·          Marcos Markou (Papadopoulos & Sons)
·          Rufus Norris (Broken)
·          Paul Wright (For Those in Peril)

Young British Performer of the Year
·          Conner Chapman (The Selfish Giant)
·          Eloise Laurence (Broken)
·      George MacKay (Breakfast with Jonny Wilkinson / For Those in Peril / How I Live Now / Sunshine on Leith)
·          Saoirse Ronan (Byzantium / The Host / How I Live Now)
·          Shaun Thomas (The Selfish Giant)

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film
      Gary Oldman

No comments:

Post a Comment