Tuesday, 3 December 2013


The International Press Academy is an offshoot of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, which is an offshoot of reality and quality. Their 18th annual nominations are below.

Best Motion Picture
  • 12 Years a Slave
  • All Is Lost
  • American Hustle
  • Blue Jasmine
  • Captain Phillips
  • Gravity
  • Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Philomena
  • Saving Mr. Banks
  • The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Director
  • Woody Allen (Blue Jasmine)
  • Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Inside Llewyn Davis)
  • Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)
  • Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips)
  • Ron Howard (Rush)
  • Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
  • David O. Russell (American Hustle)
  • Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Actor in a Motion Picture
  • Christian Bale (American Hustle)
  • Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
  • Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
  • Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)
  • Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
  • Robert Redford (All Is Lost)
  • Forest Whitaker (Lee Daniels' The Butler)

Best Actress in a Motion Picture
  • Amy Adams (American Hustle)
  • Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
  • Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
  • Judi Dench (Philomena)
  • Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Colour)
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Enough Said)
  • Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)
  • Emma Thompson (Saving Mr. Banks)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
  • Casey Affleck (Out of the Furnace)
  • Bradley Cooper (American Hustle)
  • Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
  • Harrison Ford (42)
  • Ryan Gosling (The Place Beyond the Pines)
  • Jake Gyllenhaal (Prisoners)
  • Tom Hanks (Saving Mr. Banks)
  • Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
  • Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
  • Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
  • Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave)
  • Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
  • Lea Seydoux (Blue Is the Warmest Colour)
  • June Squibb (Nebraska)
  • Emily Watson (The Book Thief)
  • Oprah Winfrey (Lee Daniels' The Butler)

Best Original Screenplay
  • Woody Allen (Blue Jasmine)
  • Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Inside Llewyn Davis)
  • Nicole Holofcener (Enough Said)
  • Spike Jonze (Her)
  • Kelly Marcel and Sue Smith (Saving Mr. Banks)
  • David O. Russell and Eric Singer (American Hustle)

Best Adapted Screenplay
  • Peter Berg (Lone Survivor)
  • Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (Philomena)
  • Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater (Before Midnight)
  • Billy Ray (Captain Phillips)
  • John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)
  • Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Cinematography
  • Sean Bobbitt (12 Years a Slave)
  • Roger Deakins (Prisoners)
  • Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)
  • Anthony Dod Mantle (Rush)
  • Stuart Dryburgh (The Secret Life of Walter Mitty)
  • Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Best Film Editing
  • Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers (American Hustle)
  • Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach (Prisoners)
  • Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger (Gravity)
  • Daniel P. Hanley and Mike Hill (Rush)
  • Thelma Schoonmaker (The Wolf of Wall Street)
  • Joe Walker (12 Years a Slave)

Best Art Direction & Production Design
  • Michael Corenblith and Lauren E. Polizzi (Saving Mr. Banks)
  • Mark Digby and Patrick Rolfe (Rush)
  • Maria Djurkovic and Tatiana MacDonald (The Invisible Woman)
  • Beverly Dunn and Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby)
  • Tim Galvin and Diane Lederman (Lee Daniels' The Butler)
  • Nancy Haigh and Robert Stromberg (Oz the Great and Powerful)

Best Costume Design
  • Julian Day (Rush)
  • Gary Jones (Oz the Great and Powerful)
  • Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby)
  • Patricia Norris (12 Years a Slave)
  • Michael O'Connor (The Invisible Woman)
  • Daniel Orlandi (Saving Mr. Banks)

Best Sound (Editing & Mixing)
  • Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle and Skip Lievsay (Gravity)
  • Craig Berkey, David Husby, Christopher Scarabosio and Dave Whitehead (Elysium)
  • Steve Boeddeker, Richard Hymns and Brandon Proctor (All Is Lost)
  • Chris Burdon, Oliver Tarney and Mark Taylor (Captain Phillips)
  • Danny Hambrook, Frank Kruse and Markus Stemler (Rush)
  • Skip Lievsay, Igor Nikolic and Paul Urmson (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Visual Effects
  • Matt Baer and Markus Manninen (The Croods)
  • Colin Davies, Robert Munroe and Brendon O'Dell (All Is Lost)
  • Scott Farrar, Matt Johnson, Andrew R. Jones and Jessica Norman (World War Z)
  • Mark Hodgkins, Jody Johnson and Antoine Moulineau (Rush)
  • Charles Howell, Chris Lawrence and Tim Webber (Gravity)
  • Troy Saliba, James Schwalm and Scott Stokdyk (Oz the Great and Powerful)

Best Original Score
  • Arcade Fire (Her)
  • Alexandre Desplat (Philomena)
  • Steven Price (Gravity)
  • Theodore Shapiro (The Secret Life of Walter Mitty)
  • John Williams (The Book Thief)
  • Hans Zimmer (12 Years a Slave)

Best Original Song
  • 'Happy' (Despicable Me 2)
  • 'I See Fire' (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug)
  • 'Let It Go' (Frozen)
  • 'Please Mr. Kennedy' (Inside Llewyn Davis)
  • 'So You Know What It's Like' (Short Term 12)
  • 'Young and Beautiful' (The Great Gatsby)

Best Motion Picture - Animated or Mixed Media
  • Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs
  • The Croods
  • Epic
  • Ernest & Celestine
  • Frozen
  • Monsters University
  • Turbo
  • The Wind Rises

Best Motion Picture - Documentary
  • 20 Feet from Stardom
  • The Act of Killing
  • After Tiller
  • American Promise
  • Blackfish
  • Evocateur: The Morton Downey Jr. Movie
  • Sound City
  • The Square
  • Stories We Tell
  • Tim's Vermeer

Best Motion Picture - International Film
  • Bethlehem - Israel
  • Blue Is the Warmest Colour - France
  • The Broken Circle Breakdown - Belgium
  • Circles - Serbia
  • Four Corners - South Africa
  • The Great Beauty - Italy
  • The Hunt - Denmark
  • Metro Manila - UK
  • The Past - Iran
  • Wadjda - Saudi Arabia

Best Ensemble

Breakthrough Performance Award
Sophie Nelisse (The Book Thief)

Honorary Satellite Award
Ryan Coogler

No comments:

Post a Comment