Thursday, 31 July 2014


TIFF Docs, Masters, Midnight Madness and Vanguard are four of the most interesting sidebars at the Toronto International Film Festival, and they've just announced their lineups. Among them, they'll showcase the new works from filmmakers such as Frederick Wiseman, Andrey Zvyagintsev, Michael Winterbottom, Hong Sang Soo, Jean-Luc Godard, Peter Strickland and Miike Takashi. The full details are right here:

Beats of the Antonov (Hajooj Kuka)
I Am Here (Fan Xi Lin)
Iraqi Odyssey (Samir)
The Look of Silence (Joshua Oppenheimer)
Merchants of Doubt (Robert Kenner)
National Diploma (Dieudo Hamadi)
National Gallery (Frederick Wiseman)
Natural Resistance (Jonathan Nossiter)
Red Army (Gabe Polsky)
Seymour: An Introduction (Ethan Hawke)
Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait (Ossama Mohammed and Wiam Simav Bedirxan)
Sunshine Superman (Marah Strauch)
Tales of the Grim Sleeper (Nick Broomfield)
This Is My Land (Tamara Erde)
The Yes Men Are Revolting (Laura Nix and The Yes Men)

1,001 Grams (Bent Hamer)
The Face of an Angel (Michael Winterbottom)
The Golden Era (Ann Hui)
Goodbye to Language 3D (Jean-Luc Godard)
Hill of Freedom (Hong Sang Soo)
Leviathan (Andrey Zvyagintsev)
A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence (Roy Andersson)
Revivre (Im Kwon Taek)
Timbuktu (Abderrahmane Sissako)

After the cut, the Midnight Madness and Vanguard lineups, which both look very promising.

Midnight Madness
[REC] 4: Apocalypse (Jaume Balaguero)
Big Game (Jalmari Heleander)
Cub (Jonas Govaerts)
Electric Boogaloo: The Wild, Untold Story of Cannon Films (Mark Hartley)
The Guest (Adam Wingard)
It Follows (David Robert Mitchell)
Tokyo Tribe (Sono Sion)
Tusk (Kevin Smith)
What We Do in the Shadows (Taika Waititi)

Alleluia (Fabrice du Welz)
The Duke of Burgundy (Peter Strickland)
Goodnight Mommy (Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala)
Hyena (Gerard Johnson)
Luna (Dave McKean)
Over Your Dead Body (Miike Takashi)
Shrew's Nest (Juanfer Andres and Esteban Roes)
Spring (Justin Benson and Aaron Moorhead)
They Have Escaped (J.P. Valkeapaa)
Waste Land (Pieter van Hees)
The World of Kanako (Nakashima Tetsuya)