Tuesday, 25 November 2014


Andrey Zvyagintsev's Leviathan adds yet another major festival award to its trophy case. Poland's prestigious Camerimage festival, which specifically honours films for their cinematography, handed its top honor to Mikhail Krichman for his strong work on the Oscar contender. The jury, which was headed by director Roland Joffe (two of whose films have received Academy Awards for their cinematography) presented Ehab Assal with the second place citation for his work on Omarand Andre Turpin the third place citation for his work on Mommy. Recipients of awards in other sections of the festival were, thankfully, from more obscure titles, at a festival which included screenings of restored Michael Powell / Emeric Pressburger prints, Oscar hopefuls like Birdman and The Imitation Game showing, and appearances from major celebrities such as Martin Scorsese and Philip Kaufman. Full details of winners below:

Golden Frog
Leviathan (Mikhail Krichman and Andrey Zvyagintsev)

Silver Frog
Omar (Ehab Assal and Hany Abu-Assad)

Bronze Frog
Mommy (Xavier Dolan and Andre Turpin)

Golden Frog - 3D Films
Beyond the Edge (Richard Bluck and Leanne Pooley)

Best 3D Feature Film
The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet (Thomas Hardmeier and Jean-Pierre Jeunet)

Golden Frog - Polish Films
Hardkor Disco (Kacper Fertacz and Krzysztof Skonieczny)

Golden Frog - Grand Prix for Feature-Length Documentary
Blood (Yura Gautsel, Sergei Maksimov and Alina Rudnitskaya)

Special Mention for Feature-Length Documentary
Monte Adentro (Nicolas Macario Alonso and Mauricio Vidal)

Directors' Debut Competition
Theeb (Naji Abu Nowar and Wolfgang Thaler)

Cinematographers' Debut Competition
When Animals Dream (Jonas Alexander Arnby and Niels Thastum)

Golden Tadpole - Laszlo Kovacz Award for Student Film
Berlin Troika (Andrej Gontcharov and Julian Landweer)

Silver Tadpole for Student Film
The Shadow Forest (Andrzej Cichocki)

Bronze Tadpole for Student Film
Do You Even Know (Arthur Lecouturier and Clemence Warnier)

Special Award for Student Film
Room 55 (James Blann and Rose Glass)

Golden Frog for Short Documentary
Starting Point (Przemyslaw Niczyporuk and Michael Szczesniak)

Special Mention for Short Documentary
Shipwreck (Morgan Knibbe)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Caleb Deschanel
Philip Kaufman

Polish Filmmakers Association Award
German Film and Television Academy