Sunday, 14 December 2014


The San Francisco Film Critics Circle is currently voting on its award winners, and I wasn't expecting a slate of nominees from them (they don't normally announce one) so forgive me for posting these so late. Yet another critics' group to show some serious love for Under the Skinmore surprisingly, Mr. Turner makes a very strong showing, deservedly. Alas, on the negative side, The Imitation Game pulls off a shock Best Picture nomination, and Gone Girl is shut out in all but the Adapted Screenplay category. Shortly prior to my winners' post, here are all of the nominations:

Best Picture
The Imitation Game
Under the Skin

Best Director
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jonathan Glazer (Under the Skin)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Mike Leigh (Mr. Turner)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Essie Davis (The Babadook)
Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Supporting Actor
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Gene Jones (The Sacrament)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Agata Kulesza (Ida)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Screenplay, Original
Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
J. C. Chandor (A Most Violent Year)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Mike Leigh (Mr. Turner)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Screenplay, Adapted
Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)
Bong Joon Ho and Kelly Masterson (Snowpiercer)
Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
Nick Hornby (Wild)
Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Best Cinematography
Daniel Landin (Under the Skin)
Ryszard Lenczewski and Lukasz Zal (Ida)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)
Dick Pope (Mr. Turner)
Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Editing
Sandra Adair (Boyhood)
Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione (Birdman)
Tom Cross (Whiplash)
Leslie Jones (Inherent Vice)
Paul Watts (Under the Skin)

Best Production Design
David Crank (Inherent Vice)
Suzie Davies (Mr. Turner)
Ondrej Nekvasil (Snowpiercer)
Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Kevin Thompson (Birdman)

Best Animated Feature
Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

Best Documentary
Finding Vivian Maier
Jodorowsky’s Dune
Life Itself
The Overnighters

Best Foreign Language Picture
Force Majeure
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Two Days, One Night
Wild Tales

Special Citation
Blue Ruin
The Galapagos Affair: Satan Came to Eden
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Listen Up Philip
The One I Love