Sunday, 28 December 2014


Nominations have been announced for the 2014 North Carolina Film Critics Association awards. A formidable selection over twelve categories from the group, which shows serious love for Oscar and critical favourites, alongside a few pleasant surprises, including nods for Essie Davis and Alfred Molina. Calvary, A Most Violent Year and Selma all crack the Best Picture category too, despite minimal recognition in other fields. Winners will be revealed on the 5th of January. All the details you need to know are right below:

Best Narrative Film



The Grand Budapest Hotel

A Most Violent Year



Best Director

Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)

Ava DuVernay (Selma)

David Fincher (Gone Girl)

Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)

Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor

Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Brendan Gleeson (Calvary)

Tom Hardy (Locke)

Michael Keaton (Birdman)

Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress

Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)

Essie Davis (The Babadook)

Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)

Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)

Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Supporting Actor

Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice)

Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)

Alfred Molina (Love Is Strange)

Edward Norton (Birdman)

Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)

J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)

Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)

Rene Russo (Nightcrawler)

Emma Stone (Birdman)

Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Original Screenplay

Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)

Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)

Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

John Michael McDonagh (Calvary)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Bong Joon Ho and Kelly Masterson (Snowpiercer)

Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)

James Gunn and Nicole Perlman (Guardians of the Galaxy)

Nick Hornby (Wild)

Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Best Animated Film

Big Hero 6

The Boxtrolls

How to Train Your Dragon 2

The LEGO Movie

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

Best Documentary Film


Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me

Jodorowsky’s Dune

Life Itself

The Overnighters

Best Foreign Language Film

Force Majeure


The Lunchbox

Two Days, One Night

We Are the Best!

Tar Heel Award

Zach Galifianakis (Birdman)

Cynthia Heel (Private Violence)

Aaron Katz and Martha Stephens (Land Ho!)

Jake Lacy (Obvious Child)

Julianne Moore (Still Alice)