Wednesday, 17 December 2014


Due to a pretty insignificant breach of the Houston Film Critics Society's strict rules about screeners, David Fincher's Gone Girl was ineligible for their awards; we'll never know, then, how it might have performed with the society. The remaining eligible films fought it out for nominations as per, and the full results of the voting process can be viewed below. Award winners will be announced on the 10th of January.

Best Picture
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Guardians of the Galaxy
The Imitation Game
Inherent Vice
A Most Violent Year

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Tom Hardy (Locke)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Essie Davis (The Babadook)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Supporting Actor
Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
Andy Serkis (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Unbroken)
Robert Elswit (Nightcrawler)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)
Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar)
Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Original Score
Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Alexandre Desplat (The Imitation Game)
Jóhann Jóhannsson (The Theory of Everything)
Antonio Sanchez (Birdman)
Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Original Song
‘Big Eyes’ (Big Eyes)
‘Everything Is Awesome’ (The LEGO Movie)
‘Glory’ (Selma)
‘I’m Not Going to Miss You’ (Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me)
‘Lost Stars’ (Begin Again)

Best Animated Picture
Big Hero 6
The Book of Life
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie

Best Documentary
Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me
Jodorowsky’s Dune
Life Itself
The Overnighters

Best Foreign Picture
Force Majeure
The Raid 2
Two Days, One Night

Texas Independent Film Award
Above All Else
No No: A Dockumentary
Stop the Pounding Heart

Best Technical Achievement
‘Creation of a single long take for bulk of film’ (Birdman)
‘Creation of ape characters’ (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)
‘Filming over 12 years’ (Boyhood)

Worst Film of the Year
Dumb and Dumber To
The Identical
Left Behind
Transformers: Age of Extinction