Saturday, 13 December 2014


Pawel Pawlikowski's Idawhich is turning it out this awards season, has taken top honours at the European Film Awards. Including the People's Choice Award, the film won five trophies; Andreas Prochalska's The Dark Valley walked away with two, and there were wins for Oscar contenders Timothy Spall and Marion Cotillard. You can peruse the full list of winners here:

Best European Film

Best European Director
Pawel Pawlikowski (Ida)

Best European Actor
Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)

Best European Actress
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)

Best European Screenwriter
Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Pawel Pawlikowski (Ida)

Best European Cinematographer
Ryszard Lenczewski and Lukasz Zal (Ida)

Best European Editor
Justine Wright (Locke)

Best European Production Designer
Claus-Rudolf Amler (The Dark Valley)

Best European Costume Designer
Natascha Curtius-Noss (The Dark Valley)

Best European Sound Designer
Joakim Sundstrom (Starred Up)

Best European Composer
Mica Levi (Under the Skin)

Best European Animated Feature Film
The Art of Happiness

Best European Documentary
Master of the Universe

Best European Comedy
The Mafia Only Kills in the Summer

People's Choice Award

Best European Short Film
The Chicken

European Achievement in World Cinema
Steve McQueen

European Co-Production Award (Prix Eurimages)
Ed Guiney

European Discovery (FIPRESCI Prize)
The Tribe

Lifetime Achievement Award
Agnes Varda