Friday, 12 December 2014


Thrillers Gone Girl and Nightcrawler both score multiple nominations from the San Diego Film Critics Society, which announced its nominees yesterday. Those films seemingly took the place of big losers The Imitation Gameonly nominated twice over the group's 16 categories, and Birdman, which misses out on Best Picture and Cinematography nods. Instead, Selma makes the San Diego critics' Top 6, despite picking up only a Best Ensemble nomination otherwise. Winners on the 15th of December, like most other critics' groups this year, it seems. Here are all the details you'll need:

Best Film
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Theory of Everything

Best Director
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
David Fincher (Gone Girl)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Brendan Gleeson (Calvary)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Tom Hardy (Locke)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Hilary Swank (The Homesman)
Mia Wasikowska (Tracks)

Best Supporting Actor
Riz Ahmed (Nightcrawler)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Carrie Coon (Gone Girl)
Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)
Rene Russo (Nighcrawler)
Emma Stone (Birdman)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Steven Knight (Locke)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Richard LaGravenese and William Nicholson (Unbroken)
Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
Nick Hornby (Wild)
Anthony McCarten (The Theory of Everything)
Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber (The Fault in Our Stars)

Best Cinematography
Jeff Cronenweth (Gone Girl)
Roger Deakins (Unbroken)
Robert Elswit (Nightcrawler)
Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar)
Fredrik Wenzel (Force Majeure)

Best Editing
Sandra Adair (Boyhood)
Kirk Baxter (Gone Girl)
John Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
James Herbert and Laura Jennings (Edge of Tomorrow)
Barney Pilling (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Production Design
Nathan Crowley (Interstellar)
Maria Djurkovic (The Imitation Game)
Dennis Gassner and Anna Pinnock (Into the Woods)
John Paul Kelly (The Theory of Everything)
Anna Pinnock and Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Score
Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Alexandre Desplat (The Imitation Game)
James Newton Howard (Nightcrawler)
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Gone Girl)
Antonio Sanchez (Birdman)

Best Ensemble
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game

Best Animated Film
Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie
The Nut Job

Best Documentary
Elaine Stritch: Shoot Me
Glenn Campbell: I’ll Be Me
Last Days in Vietnam
Life Itself

Best Foreign Language Film
Force Majeure
Two Days, One Night
Venus in Fur