Sunday, 7 December 2014


The first critics' group to announce a slate of nominations this season is the Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association. They show expected appreciation for Birdman and Boyhoodbut also support for films some had thought to be flagging: Gone Girl and Selma. The usual quirks exist, involving potential lapses in taste in my opinion, and potential signs of promise in others' - who cares, one way or another? WAFCA announces its award winners on Monday, the 8th of December. Here are all of their nominees:

Best Film
Gone Girl

Best Director
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Ava DuVernay (Selma)
David Fincher (Gone Girl)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Oscar Isaac (A Most Violent Year)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
David Oyelowo (Selma)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress
Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Supporting Actor
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
Andy Serkis (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Laura Dern (Wild)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Phil Lord and Christopher Miller (The LEGO Movie)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)
Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
Nick Hornby (Wild)
Anthony McCarten (The Theory of Everything)
Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Unbroken)
Daniel Landin (Under the Skin)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)
Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar)
Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Editing
Sandra Adair (Boyhood)
Kirk Baxter (Gone Girl)
Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione (Birdman)
Tom Cross (Whiplash)
Lee Smith (Interstellar)

Best Art Direction
Beatrice Brentnerova and Ondrej Nekvasil (Snowpiercer)
Nathan Crowley and Gary Fettis (Interstellar)
George DeTitta Jr. and  Kevin Thompson (Birdman)
Dennis Gassner and Anna Pinnock (Into the Woods)
Anna Pinnock and Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Original Score
Jóhann Jóhansson (The Theory of Everything)
Mica Levi (Under the Skin)
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Gone Girl)
Antonio Sanchez (Birdman)
Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Acting Ensemble
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Into the Woods

Best Animated Feature
Big Hero 6
The Book of Life
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie

Best Documentary
Jodorowsky’s Dune
Last Days in Vietnam
Life Itself
The Overnighters

Best Foreign Language Film
Force Majeure
Two Days, One Night
Wild Tales

Best Youth Performance
Ellar Coltrane (Boyhood)
Mackenzie Foy (Interstellar)
Jaeden Lieberher (St. Vincent)
Tony Revolori (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Noah Wiseman (The Babadook)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, D.C.
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Kill the Messenger
X-Men: Days of Future Past