Thursday, 15 January 2015


It was another saddening announcement from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science, as they faced the shame of revealing their 2014 nominations. Although Selma cracked the Best Picture lineup, sitting at eight after three consecutive years at nine, it only picked up a Best Original Song nomination otherwise. No female writers or directors were recognised, nor people of colour in any of the top categories save Best Picture. Bennett Miller becomes the first director since Julian Schnabel for The Diving Bell and the Butterfly to receive a nod in Best Director for a film, Foxcatcher, that is not up for Best Picture. The Oscars will be held on the 22nd of February, at The Academy's annual shitfest awards ceremony. All the nominees below:

Best Picture
American Sniper (Bradley Cooper, Clint Eastwood, Andrew Lazar, Robert Lorenz and Peter Morgan)
Birdman (Alejandro González Iñárritu, John Lesher and James W. Skotchdopole)
Boyhood (Richard Linklater and Cathleen Sutherland)
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven M. Rales and Scott Rudin)
The Imitation Game (Nora Grossman, Ido Ostrowsky and Teddy Schwarzman)
Selma (Christian Colson, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Oprah Winfrey)
The Theory of Everything (Tim Bevan, Lisa Bruce, Eric Fellner and Anthony McCarten)
Whiplash (Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook and David Lancaster)

Best Director
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Bennett Miller (Foxcatcher)
Morten Tyldum (The Imitation Game)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Steve Carell (Foxcatcher)
Bradley Cooper (American Sniper)
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Robert Duvall (The Judge)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Laura Dern (Wild)
Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Meryl Streep (Into the Woods)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman (Foxcatcher)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Jason Hall (American Sniper)
Anthony McCarten (The Theory of Everything)
Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Unbroken)
Ryszard Lenczewski and Lukasz Zal (Ida)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)
Dick Pope (Mr. Turner)
Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Film Editing
Sandra Adair (Boyhood)
Joel Cox and Gary Roach (American Sniper)
Tom Cross (Whiplash)
William Goldenberg (The Imitation Game)
Barney Pilling (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Production Design
Nathan Crowley and Gary Fettis (Interstellar)
Suzie Davies and Charlotte Watts (Mr. Turner)
Maria Djurkovic and Tatiana MacDonald (The Imitation Game)
Dennis Gassner and Anna Pinnock (Into the Woods)
Anna Pinnock and Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Costume Design
Colleen Atwood (Into the Woods)
Mark Bridges (Inherent Vice)
Milena Canonero (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jane Clive and Anna B. Sheppard (Maleficent)
Jacqueline Durran (Mr. Turner)

Best Sound Mixing
Thomas Curley, Craig Mann and Ben Wilkins (Whiplash)
Gregg Landaker, Gary Rizzo and Mark Weingarten (Interstellar)
David Lee, Frank A. Montaño and Jon Taylor (Unbroken)
Walt Martin, John T. Reitz and Gregg Rudloff (American Sniper)
Frank A. Montaño, Jon Taylor and Thomas Varga (Birdman)

Best Sound Editing
Bub Asman and Alan Robert Murray (American Sniper)
Brent Burge and Jason Canovas (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies)
Andrew DeCristofaro and Becky Sullivan (Unbroken)
Aaron Glascock and Martin Hernández (Birdman)
Richard King (Interstellar)

Best Visual Effects
Nicolas Aithadi, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould and Jonathan Fawkner (Guardians of the Galaxy)
Daniel Barrett, Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon and Erik Winquist (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)
Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Daniel Sudick (Captain America: The Winter Soldier)
Tim Crosbie, Lou Pecora, Richard Stammers and Cameron Waldbauer (X-Men: Days of Future Past)
Scott Fisher, Paul Franklin, Ian Hunter and Andrew Lockley (Interstellar)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard (Foxcatcher)
Mark Coulier and Frances Hannon (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
David White and Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou (Guardians of the Galaxy)

Best Original Score
Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Alexandre Desplat (The Imitation Game)
Jóhann Jóhannsson (The Theory of Everything)
Gary Yershon (Mr. Turner)
Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Original Song
Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois – ‘Lost Stars’ (Begin Again)
Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond – ‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You’ (Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me)
Lonnie Lynn Jr. and John Stephens – ‘Glory’ (Selma)
Shawn Patterson – ‘Everything Is Awesome’ (The LEGO Movie)
Diane Warren – ‘Grateful’ (Beyond the Lights)

Best Animated Feature
Big Hero 6 (Roy Conli, Don Hall and Chris Williams)
The Boxtrolls (Graham Annable, Travis Knight and Anthony Stacchi)
How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Bonnie Arnold and Dean DeBlois)
Song of the Sea (Tomm Moore and Paul Young)
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya (Nishimura Yoshiaki and Takahata Isao)

Best Documentary Feature
Citizenfour (Mathilde Bonnefoy, Laura Poitras and Dirk Wilutzky)
Finding Vivian Maier (John Maloof and Charlie Siskel)
Last Days in Vietnam (Rory Kennedy and Kevin McAlester)
The Salt of the Earth (Julian Ribeiro Salgado, David Rosier and Wim Wenders)
Virunga (Joanna Natasegara and Orlando von Einsiedel)

Best Foreign Language Film
Ida (Pawel Pawlikowski) – Poland
Leviathan (Andrey Zvyagintsev) – Russia
Tangerines (Zaza Urushadze) – Estonia
Timbuktu (Abderrahmane Sissako) – Mauritania
Wild Tales (Damián Szifrón) – Argentina

Best Live Action Short Film
Aya (Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis)
Boogaloo and Graham (Ronan Blaney and Michael Lennox)
Butter Lamp (Julien Féret and Wei Hu)
Parvaneh (Stefan Eichenberger and Talkhon Hamzavi)
The Phone Call (Mat Kirkby and James Lucas)

Best Animated Short Film
The Bigger Picture (Christopher Hees and Daisy Jacobs)
The Dam Keeper (Robert Kondo and Dice Tsutsumi)
Feast (Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed)
Me and My Moulton (Torill Kove)
A Single Life (Joris Oprins)

Best Documentary Short Subject
Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 (Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry)
Joanna (Aneta Kopacz)
Our Curse (Maciej Ślesicki and Tomasz Śliwiński)
The Reaper (Gabriel Serra Arguello)
White Earth (J. Christian Jensen)