Wednesday, 7 January 2015


The Writers Guild of America only permits films written by its members to earn nominations for its yearly awards. This rules out many of the year's likeliest Oscar nominees, among them Mr. Turner, Selma and The Theory of EverythingHowever, dark horse Guardians of the Galaxy makes the Adapted Screenplay list, increasing its visibility among contenders for major Oscar nods. Winners are due to be announced at the guild's awards ceremony on the 14th of February. All of the nominations right here:

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman (Foxcatcher)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Richard Linklater (Birdman)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Gillian Flynn – based on her novel (Gone Girl)
James Gunn and Nicole Perlman – based on the Marvel comic by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning (Guardians of the Galaxy)
Jason Hall – based on the book by Chris Kyle with Jim DeFelice and Scott McEwen (American Sniper)
Nick Hornby – based on the book by Cheryl Strayed (Wild)
Graham Moore – based on the book ‘Alan Turing: The Enigma’ by Andrew Hodges (The Imitation Game)

Best Documentary Screenplay
Mark Bailey and Kevin McAlester (Last Days in Vietnam)
Brian Knappenberger (The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz)
John Maloof and Charlie Siskel (Finding Vivian Maier)
Gabe Polsky (Red Army)