Sunday, 4 January 2015


The Central Ohio Film Critics Association hasn't chosen the Oscar winner for Best Picture as their film of the year since No Country for Old Men. That's the kind of critics' group I like. As Selma gains ground on its competitors in the new year, as expected - despite missing out on an ACE nomination - it earns several nods from COFCA; their choices are fairly typical of a critic group, with awards season favourites intermingling with some more left-field contenders, among which are a few pleasant picks. Winners are set to be revealed on the 8th of January. Here are all of their 2014 nominations:

Best Film
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
A Most Violent Year

Best Director
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Ava DuVernay (Selma)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
David Oyelowo (Selma)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress
Essie Davis (The Babadook)
Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Supporting Actor
Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
J. C. Chandor (A Most Violent Year)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Paul Webb (Selma)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)
Bong Joon Ho and Kelly Masterson (Snowpiercer)
Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
Nick Hornby (Wild)
Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Best Cinematography
Benoît Delhomme (The Theory of Everything)
Daniel Landin (Under the Skin)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)
Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar)
Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Film Editing
Sandra Adair (Boyhood)
Spencer Averick (Selma)
Kirk Baxter (Gone Girl)
Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione (Birdman)
Tom Cross (Whiplash)

Best Score
Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jóhann Jóhannsson (The Theory of Everything)
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Gone Girl)
Antonio Sanchez (Birdman)
Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Ensemble
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Guardians of the Galaxy

Best Animated Film
Big Hero 6
The Book of Life
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie

Best Documentary
Dinosaur 13
Finding Vivian Maier
Jodorowsky’s Dune
Life Itself

Best Foreign Language Film
Force Majeure
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Two Days, One Night
We Are the Best!

Best Overlooked Film
The Babadook
Blue Ruin
Edge of Tomorrow

Best Breakthrough Film Artist
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Ava DuVernay (Selma)
Jennifer Kent (The Babadook)
Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Belle / Beyond the Lights)
Justin Simien (Dear White People)

Actor of the Year
Jessica Chastain (The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby / Interstellar / Miss Julie / A Most Violent Year)
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies / The Imitation Game)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Enemy / Nightcrawler)
Chris Pratt (Guardians of the Galaxy / The LEGO Movie)
Tilda Swinton (The Grand Budapest Hotel / Only Lovers Left Alive / Snowpiercer / The Zero Theorem)