Monday, 5 January 2015


Amid numerous guild snubs, Ava DuVernay's Selma has fared very well with the critics, now that most of them have seen it. The Georgia Film Critics Association's long list of nominations features the historical drama in several categories, including in Original Screenplay, where a couple of slight surprises edge out one of the favourites in that category, BirdmanTheir winners are due to be revealed on Friday the 9th of January. Here are all of their nominees:

Best Picture
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel
A Most Violent Year

Best Director
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Ava DuVernay (Selma)
David Fincher (Gone Girl)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
David Oyelowo (Selma)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Lisa Loven Kongsli (Force Majeure)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)

Best Supporting Actor
Riz Ahmed (Nightcrawler)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Rene Russo (Nightcrawler)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
John Michael McDonagh (Calvary)
Paul Webb (Selma)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson and Thomas Pynchon (Inherent Vice)
Bong Joon Ho, Benjamin Legrand, Jacques Lob, Kelly Masterson and Jean-Marc Rochette (Snowpiercer)
Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
Andrew Hodges and Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)
Nick Hornby and Cheryl Strayed (Wild)
Anthony McCarten and Jane Wilde Hawking (The Theory of Everything)

Best Cinematography
Robert Elswit (Inherent Vice)
Ryszard Lenczewski and Lukasz Zal (Ida)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)
Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar)
Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Production Design
David Crank and Amy Wells (Inherent Vice)
Nathan Crowley and Gary Fettis (Interstellar)
Dennis Gassner and Anna Pinnock (Into the Woods)
Catherine George and Ondrej Nekvasil (Snowpiercer)
Chris Oddy and Emer O’Sullivan (Under the Skin)
Anna Pinnock and Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Original Score
Joshua Abrams (Life Itself)
Mica Levi (Under the Skin)
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Gone Girl)
Antonio Sanchez (Birdman)
Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Original Song
Joshua Bartholomew, Lisa Harriton, Shawn Patterson, Andy Samberg, Akiva Schaffer and Jorma Taccone – ‘Everything Is Awesome’ (The LEGO Movie)
Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond – ‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You’ (Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me)
Lonnie Lynn, Che Smith and John Stephens – ‘Glory’ (Selma)
Bret McKenzie – ‘Something So Right’ (Muppets Most Wanted)
J. Ralph – ‘We Will Not Go’ (Virunga)

Best Ensemble
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Animated Film
Big Hero 6
The Book of Life
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie

Best Documentary
Finding Vivian Maier
Keep On Keepin’ On
Life Itself

Best Foreign Film
Force Majeure
Two Days, One Night
We Are the Best!

Breakthrough Award
Ellar Coltrane (Boyhood)
Ava DuVernay (Selma)
Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Belle / Beyond the Lights)
David Oyelowo (Default / Interstellar / A Most Violent Year / Nightingale / Selma)
Jenny Slate (The Longest Week / Obvious Child)
Tessa Thompson (Dear White People / Grantham & Rose / Selma)