Sunday, 8 February 2015


Having handed in their votes prior to the Directors' Guild of America's confirmation of Birdman as this year's Oscar Best Picture frontrunner, BAFTA were unable to jump on that bandwagon. And so, Boyhood wins the British Academy's award for Best Film and Best Director both. Hooray! However, its three wins are belittled by The Grand Budapest Hotel's fantastic five; The Theory of Everything equals Boyhood's three, with an unsurprisingly strong performance.

Best Film
Boyhood (Richard Linklater and Cathleen Sutherland)

David Lean Award for Direction
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Leading Actor
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Leading Actress
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Best Supporting Actor
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Anthony McCarten (The Theory of Everything)

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman)

Best Editing
Tom Cross (Whiplash)

Best Production Design
Anna Pinnock and Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Costume Design
Milena Canonero (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Sound
Thomas Curley, Craig Mann and Ben Wilkins (Whiplash)

Best Special Visual Effects
Scott Fisher, Paul Franklin and Andrew Lockley (Interstellar)

Best Make Up & Hair
Mark Coulier and Frances Hannon (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Anthony Asquith Award for Film Music
Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Animated Film
The LEGO Movie (Phil Lord and Christopher Miller)

Best Documentary
Citizenfour (Laura Poitras)

Best Film Not in the English Language
Ida (Eric Abraham, Piotr Dzieciol, Pawel Pawlikowski and Eva Puszczynska)

Alexander Korda Award for Best British Film
The Theory of Everything (Tim Bevan, Lisa Bruce, Eric Fellner, James Marsh and Anthony McCarten)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Stephen Beresford and David Livingstone (Pride)

Best British Short Film
Boogaloo and Graham (Ronan Blaney, Brian J. Falconer and Michael Lennox)

Best British Short Animation
The Bigger Picture (Chris Hees, Daisy Jacobs and Jennifer Majka)

Outstanding Contribution to British Cinema
BBC Films

EE Rising Star
Jack O'Connell

BAFTA Fellowship
Mike Leigh