Friday, 21 August 2015


Nominations for three of five categories for the 2015 World Soundtrack Awards have been announced by the World Soundtrack Academy. Alexandre Desplat, Johann Johannsson and Hans Zimmer - all nominees for last year's Oscar (with Desplat the winner for The Grand Budapest Hotel) each receive two nominations, including Composer and Original Film Score. Nominations for Discovery of the Year are yet to be announced, and voting is open for the Public Choice Award on the WSA website. Current nominations are featured below:

Film Composer of the Year
  • Bruno Coulais (3 Hearts / Diary of a Chambermaid / Fly Away Solo / Gemma Bovery / Mune, le Guardien de la Lune / Song of the Sea)
  • Alexandre Desplat (Everything Will Be Fine / The Imitation Game / Tale of Tales / Unbroken)
  • Michael Giacchino (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes / Inside Out / Jupiter Ascending / Jurassic World / Tomorrowland)
  • Johann Johannsson (The 11th Hour / Sicario / The Theory of Everything)
  • Hans Zimmer (Chappie / Interstellar)

Best Original Film Score of the Year
  • Alexandre Desplat (The Imitation Game)
  • Patrick Doyle (Cinderella)
  • Johann Johannsson (The Theory of Everything)
  • Antonio Sanchez (Birdman)
  • Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Original Song Written for a Film

  • Diego Luna, Gustavo Santaolalla and Paul Williams - 'The Apology Song' (The Book of Life)
  • Lonnie Lynn, Che Smith and John Stephens - 'Glory' (Selma)
  • Rita Ora and Diane Warren - 'Grateful' (Beyond the Lights)
  • John Padgett and Saoirse Ronan - 'Tell Me' (Lost River)
  • Christopher Taylor and Joseph Trapanese - 'Carry Me Home' (Insurgent)