Wednesday, 12 August 2015


Four new lineups join the official TIFF 2015 selection, as Masters, Midnight Madness, TIFF Docs and Vanguard slates are revealed. Lots of high profile titles among the new additions, as expected; the quality ratio appears to be pretty high, though most of the expected Oscar contenders at Toronto will likely have been announced in the first batch. Full details below:

Masters Programme
  • 11 Minutes (Jerzy Skolimowski)
  • The Assassin (Hou Hsiao Hsien)
  • Bleak Street (Arturo Ripstein)
  • Blood of My Blood (Marco Bellocchio)
  • Cemetery of Splendour (Apichatpong Weerasethakul)
  • Francofonia (Aleksandr Sokurov)
  • In the Shadow of Women (Philippe Garrel)
  • Our Little Sister (Koreeda Hirokazu)
  • The Pearl Button (Patricio Guzman)
  • Rabin, the Last Day (Amos Gitai)
  • Right Now, Wrong Then (Hong Sang Soo)
  • Taxi (Jafar Panahi)

Check out the Midnight Madness, Docs and Vanguard selections after the cut:

Midnight Madness
  • Baskin (Can Evrenol)
  • The Devil's Candy (Sean Byrne)
  • The Final Girls (Todd Strauss-Schulson)
  • The Girl in the Photographs (Nick Simon)
  • Green Room (Jeremy Saulnier)
  • Hardcore (Ilya Naishuller)
  • The Mind's Eye (Joe Begos)
  • Southbound (Roxanne Benjamin, Matt Bettinelli-Olpin, David Bruckner, Tyler Gillett, Patrick Horvath, Justin Martinez and Chad Villella)
  • SPL 2 - A Time for Consequences (Soi Cheang)
  • Yakuza Apocalypse (Miike Takashi)

  • Amazing Grace (Sydney Pollack)
  • Being AP (Anthony Wonke)
  • Bolshoi Babylon (Nick Read)
  • Dark Horse (Louise Osmond)
  • A Flickering Truth (Pietra Brettkelly)
  • He Named Me Malala (Davis Guggenheim)
  • Heart of a Dog (Laurie Anderson)
  • Hitchcock/Truffaut (Kent Jones)
  • Horizon (Bergur Bernburg and Fridrik Thor Fridriksson)
  • In Jackson Heights (Frederick Wiseman)
  • It All Started at the End (Luis Ospina)
  • Janis: Little Girl Blue (Amy Berg)
  • Je Suis Charlie (Daniel Leconte and Emmanuel Leconte)
  • A Journey of a Thousand Miles: Peacekeepers (Geeta Gandbhir and Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy)
  • Miss Sharon Jones! (Barbara Kopple)
  • The Music of Strangers: Yo Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble (Morgan Neville)
  • Naseer (Jihan El-Tahri)
  • Our Last Tango (German Khal)
  • P.S. Jerusalem (Danae Elo)
  • The Reflektor Tapes (Kahlil Joseph)
  • Return of the Atom (Mika Taanila and Jussi Eerola)
  • Sherpa (Jennifer Peedom)
  • Thru You Princess (Ido Haar)
  • Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom (Evgeny Afineevsky)
  • Women He's Undressed (Gillian Armstrong)
  • A Young Patriot (Du Hai Bin)

  • Collective Invention (Kwon Oh Kwang)
  • Demon (Marcin Wrona)
  • Evolution (Lucile Hadzhihalovic)
  • February (Osgood Perkins)
  • Lace Crater (Harrison Atkins)
  • Love (Gaspar Noe)
  • Men & Chicken (Anders Thomas Jensen)
  • My Big Night (Alex de la Iglesia)
  • The Missing Girl (A. D. Calvo)
  • Der Nachtmahr (Akiz Nap)
  • Veteran (Ryoo Seung Wan)