Thursday, 22 October 2015


Nominations for the 2015 IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards have been announced! Over a small and select group of categories, Marielle Heller's The Diary of a Teenage Girl has chalked up the most mentions, earning nominations across four, with several films including fellow Best Feature nominees Carol and Tangerine scoring three each. Winners will be announced at the group's awards ceremony on the 30th of November. Check out all the nominations below:

Best Feature
Carol (Todd Haynes, Elizabeth Karlsen, Tessa Ross, Christine Vachon and Stephen Woolley)
The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Miranda Bailey, Anne Carey, Bert Hamelinck, Marielle Heller and Madeline Samit)
Heaven Knows What (Sebastian Bear-McClard, Oscar Boyson, Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie)
Spotlight (Steve Golin, Tom McCarthy, Blye Pagan Faust, Nicole Rocklin and Michael Sugar)
Tangerine (Sean Baker, Karrie Cox, Marcus Cox, Darren Dean and Tsou Shih Ching)

Best Actor
Christopher Abbott (James White)
Kevin Corrigan (Results)
Paul Dano (Love & Mercy)
Peter Sarsgaard (Experimenter)
Michael Shannon (99 Homes)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett (Carol)
Blythe Danner (I'll See You in My Dreams)
Brie Larson (Room)
Bel Powley (The Diary of a Teenage Girl)
Lily Tomlin (Grandma)
Kristen Wiig (Welcome to Me)

Best Screenplay
Noah Baumbach (While We're Young)
Marielle Heller (The Diary of a Teenage Girl)
Michael Alan Lerner and Oren Moverman (Love & Mercy)
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Phyllis Nagy (Carol)

Best Documentary
Approaching the Elephant (Jay Craven, Robert Greene and Amanda Rose Wilder)
Cartel Land (Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin)
Heart of a Dog (Laurie Anderson and Dan Janvey)
Listen to Me Marlon (John Battsek, George Chignell, R. J. Cutler and Stevan Riley)
The Look of Silence (Signe Byrge Sorensen and Joshua Oppenheimer)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Desiree Akhavan (Appropriate Behaviour)
Jonas Carpignano (Mediterranea)
Marielle Heller (The Diary of a Teenage Girl)
John Magary (The Mend)
Josh Mond (James White)

Best Breakthrough Actor
Rory Culkin (Gabriel)
Arielle Holmes (Heaven Knows What)
Lola Kirke (Mistress America)
Kitana Rodriguez (Tangerine)
Mya Taylor (Tangerine)

Gotham Jury Award
Brian d'Arcy James, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery and Stanley Tucci (Spotlight)

Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Directors 'Live the Dream' Award
Chanelle Aponte Pearson (195 Lewis)
Claire Carre (Embers)
Deb Shoval (AWOL)

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award
Approaching the Elephant
Appropriate Behaviour
Cartel Land
The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Heart of a Dog
Heaven Knows What
James White
Listen to Me Marlon
The Look of Silence
The Mend