Thursday, 5 November 2015


Creative recognition awards have been announced for the International Documentary Association's 2015 slate, alongside nominations for Best Feature and Best Short and a variety of other awards. Widely seen and acclaimed titles make up the Best Feature lineup, though the IDA voters have given a few mentions to some lesser-known docs. The ceremony will take place on the 5th of December, to be hosted by comedian Tig Notaro. All the nominations below.

Best Feature
Amy (James Gay-Rees and Asif Kapadia)
The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution (Laurens Grant and Stanley Nelson)
Listen to Me Marlon (John Battsek and Stevan Riley)
The Look of Silence (Signe Byrge Sorensen and Joshua Oppenheimer)
The Russian Woodpecker (Chad Gracia and Mike Lerner)
What Happened, Miss Simone? (Liz Garbus)

Best Writing
Peter Ettedgui and Stevan Riley (Listen to Me Marlon)

Best Cinematography
Artem Ryzhykov (The Russian Woodpecker)

Best Editing
Joe Beshenkovsky and Brett Morgen (Cobain: Montage of Heck)

Best Music
Jonathan Kirkscey (Best of Enemies)

ABC News VideoSource Award
(T)ERROR (Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe)
Best of Enemies (Robert Gordon and Morgan Neville)
Don't Think I've Forgotten: Cambodia's Lost Rock and Roll (John Pirozzi)
Night Will Fall (Andre Singer)
What Happened, Miss Simone? (Liz Garbus)

Career Achievement Award
Gordon Quinn

Pioneer Award
Ted Sarandos

Amicus Award
Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation

Emerging Filmmaker Award sponsored by the Archibald Family Foundation
Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe

Courage Under Fire Award
Matthew Heineman

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
The Archipelago (Benjamin Huguet)
The Blue Wall (Michael Milano)
El Cacao (Michelle Aguilar)
In Attla's Tracks (Catharine Axley)
Looking at the Stars (Alexandre Peralta)

Best Short
Body Team 12 (David Darg and Bryn Mooser)
Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah (Adam Benzine)
The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul (Philippa Campey and Kitty Green)
Last Day of Freedom (Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman)
Object (Paulina Skibinska)

Pare Lorentz Award
How to Change the World (Jerry Rothwell)