Monday, 14 December 2015


The nominations for the 21st annual Critics Choice awards have been revealed, and the usual suspects of awards season 2015-16 are pretty much all in attendance. Carol misses an Adapted Screenplay nomination (in an increasingly crowded field), but the big contenders are pretty much all there: Mad Max: Fury Road leading with 13 and Spotlight posing the biggest threat to win the top awards, naturally. Awards will be handed out at the ceremony on the 17th of January. Have a look at what's up right below:

Best Picture
The Big Short
Bridge of Spies
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
The Revenant
Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Director
Alejandro González Iñárritu (The Revenant)
Todd Haynes (Carol)
Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Ridley Scott (The Martian)
Steven Spielberg (Bridge of Spies)

Best Actor
Bryan Cranston (Trumbo)
Matt Damon (The Martian)
Johnny Depp (Black Mass)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett (Carol)
Brie Larson (Room)
Jennifer Lawrence (Joy)
Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)
Charlize Theron (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Supporting Actor
Paul Dano (Love & Mercy)
Tom Hardy (The Revenant)
Mark Ruffalo (Spotlight)
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
Michael Shannon (99 Homes)
Sylvester Stallone (Creed)

Best Supporting Actress
Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
Rooney Mara (Carol)
Rachel McAdams (Spotlight)
Helen Mirren (Trumbo)
Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl)
Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)

Best Original Screenplay
Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Bridge of Spies)
Josh Cooley, Pete Docter and Meg LeFauve (Inside Out)
Alex Garland (Ex Machina)
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Quentin Tarantino (The Hateful Eight)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Emma Donoghue (Room)
Drew Goddard (The Martian)
Nick Hornby (Brooklyn)
Adam McKay and Charles Randolph (The Big Short)
Aaron Sorkin (Steve Jobs)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Sicario)
Edward Lachman (Carol)
Emmanuel Lubezki (The Revenant)
Robert Richardson (The Hateful Eight)
John Seale (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Dariusz Wolski (The Martian)

Best Editing
Hank Corwin (The Big Short)
Tom McArdle (Spotlight)
Stephen Mirrione (The Revenant)
Pietro Scalia (The Martian)
Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Production Design
Judy Becker and Heather Loeffler (Carol)
Celia Bobak and Arthur Max (The Martian)
Rena DeAngelo and Adam Stockhausen (Bridge of Spies)
Colin Gibson (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Jennifer Oman, François Séguin and Louise Tremblay (Brooklyn)
Michael Standish and Eve Stewart (The Danish Girl)

Best Costume Design
Jenny Beavan (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Paco Delgado (The Danish Girl)
Odile Dicks-Mireaux (Brooklyn)
Sandy Powell (Carol)
Sandy Powell (Cinderella)

Best Visual Effects
Ex Machina
Jurassic World
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
The Revenant
The Walk

Best Hair & Makeup
Black Mass
The Danish Girl
The Hateful Eight
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Revenant

Best Score
Carter Burwell (Carol)
Jóhann Jóhannsson (Sicario)
Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight)
Carsten Nicolai and Sakamoto Ryûichi (The Revenant)
Howard Shore (Spotlight)

Best Song
‘‘Til It Happens to You’ (The Hunting Ground)
‘Love Me Like You Do’ (Fifty Shades of Grey)
‘One Kind of Love’ (Love & Mercy)
‘See You Again’ (Furious 7)
‘Simple Song #3’ (Youth)
‘Writing’s on the Wall’ (Spectre)

Best Acting Ensemble
The Big Short
The Hateful Eight
Straight Outta Compton

Best Animated Feature
The Good Dinosaur
Inside Out
The Peanuts Movie
Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Documentary Feature
Cartel Land
Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
He Named Me Malala
The Look of Silence
Where to Invade Next

Best Foreign Language Film
The Assassin
Goodnight Mommy
The Second Mother
Son of Saul

Best Action Movie
Furious 7
Jurassic World
Mad Max: Fury Road
Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation

Best Comedy
The Big Short
Inside Out

Best Sci-Fi / Horror Movie
Ex Machina
It Follows
Jurassic World
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian

Best Young Actor / Actress
Abraham Attah (Beasts of No Nation)
R. J. Cyler (Me and Earl and the Dying Girl)
Shameik Moore (Dope)
Milo Parker (Mr. Holmes)
Jacob Tremblay (Room)

Best Actor in an Action Movie
Daniel Craig (Spectre)
Tom Cruise (Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation)
Tom Hardy (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Chris Pratt (Jurassic World)
Paul Rudd (Ant-Man)

Best Actor in a Comedy
Christian Bale (The Big Short)
Steve Carell (The Big Short)
Robert de Niro (The Intern)
Bill Hader (Trainwreck)
Jason Statham (Spy)

Best Actress in an Action Movie
Emily Blunt (Sicario)
Rebecca Ferguson (Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation)
Bryce Dallas Howard (Jurassic World)
Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2)
Charlize Theron (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actress in a Comedy
Tina Fey (Sisters)
Jennifer Lawrence (Joy)
Melissa McCarthy (Spy)
Amy Schumer (Trainwreck)
Lily Tomlin (Grandma)