Monday, 14 December 2015


Mad Max: Fury Road looks set to ride to another victory in the awards race! It leads the competition in the nominations for the 2015 Chicago Film Critics Association awards, with seven mentions to Carol's six, The Revenant's five, and four for both Inside Out and Spotlight. However, the smart money may be on Tom McCarthy's journalism drama, given how the season has shaped up so far. Award winners will be revealed on the 16th of December. See the nominations below:

Best Film
Inside Out
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Revenant

Best Director
Alejandro González Iñárritu (The Revenant)
Todd Haynes (Carol)
Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)
Adam McKay (The Big Short)
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actor
Christopher Abbott (James White)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)
Jason Segel (The End of the Tour)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett (Carol)
Brie Larson (Room)
Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)
Charlize Theron (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Supporting Actor
Benicio del Toro (Sicario)
Sam Elliott (Grandma)
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
Michael Shannon (99 Homes)
Sylvester Stallone (Creed)

Best Supporting Actress
Jennifer Jason Leigh (Anomalisa)
Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
Cynthia Nixon (James White)
Kristen Stewart (Clouds of Sils Maria)
Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)

Best Original Screenplay
Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Bridge of Spies)
Josh Cooley, Pete Docter and Meg LeFauve (Inside Out)
Alex Garland (Ex Machina)
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Quentin Tarantino (The Hateful Eight)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Emma Donoghue (Room)
Nick Hornby (Brooklyn)
Charlie Kaufman (Anomalisa)
Adam McKay and Charles Randolph (The Big Short)
Aaron Sorkin (Steve Jobs)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Sicario)
Edward Lachman (Carol)
Emmanuel Lubezki (The Revenant)
Robert Richardson (The Hateful Eight)
John Seale (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Editing
Jason Ballantine and Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Hank Corwin (The Big Short)
Tom McArdle (Spotlight)
Stephen Mirrione (The Revenant)
Pietro Scalia (The Martian)

Best Art Direction / Production Design
The Assassin
Crimson Peak
Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Original Score
Carter Burwell (Carol)
Michael Giacchino (Inside Out)
Tom Holkenborg (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight)
Rich Vreeland (It Follows)

Best Animated Feature
The Good Dinosaur
Inside Out
The Peanuts Movie
Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Documentary
Cartel Land
The Hunting Ground
The Look of Silence
Where to Invade Next

Best Foreign-Language Film
The Assassin
The Look of Silence
Son of Saul
White God

Most Promising Filmmaker
Alex Garland (Ex Machina)
Marielle Heller (The Diary of a Teenage Girl)
Josh Mond (James White)
Nemes László (Son of Saul)
Bill Pohlad (Love & Mercy)

Most Promising Performer
Christopher Abbott (James White)
Bel Powley (The Diary of a Teenage Girl)
Röhrig Géza (Son of Saul)
Amy Schumer (Trainwreck)
Jacob Tremblay (Room)