Sunday, 6 December 2015


Another critics group, another big win for Spotlight, as Tom McCarthy's movie picks up its third Best Picture award of the day, following its wins at BSFC and NYFCO. Despite a very strong showing for Mad Max: Fury Road, the journalism drama beat George Miller's film to the top prize from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association. Its shot at winning the Best Picture Oscar thus dramatically improves, with three successes in a mere few hours. Check out all the winners below:

Best Picture
1. Spotlight
2. Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Director
1. George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
2. Todd Haynes (Carol)

Best Actor
1. Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
2. Rohrig Geza (Son of Saul)

Best Actress
1. Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)
2. Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

Best Supporting Actor
1. Michael Shannon (99 Homes)
2. Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)

Best Supporting Actress
1. Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)
2. Kristen Stewart (Clouds of Sils Maria)

Best Screenplay
1. Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)
2. Charlie Kaufman (Anomalisa)

Best Cinematography
1. John Seale (Mad Max: Fury Road)
2. Edward Lachman (Carol)

Best Editing
1. Hank Corwin (The Big Short)
2. Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Production Design
1. Colin Gibson (Mad Max: Fury Road)
2. Judy Becker (Carol)

Best Music Score
1. Carter Burwell (Anomalisa / Carol)
2. Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight)

Best Animation
1. Anomalisa
2. Inside Out

Best Documentary
1. Amy
2. The Look of Silence

Best Foreign-Language Film
1. Son of Saul
2. The Tribe

New Generation Award
Ryan Coogler (Creed)

Career Achievement Award
Anne V. Coates