Wednesday, 27 January 2016


Nominations for the 63rd Motion Picture Sound Editors awards have been announced - yes, that's 63 years of awards for sound editors, and how many of them can you even recall? It's also 63 years of practice for the MPSE, yet they still can't perfect the names of their own nominees, crediting What Happened, Miss Simone? as 'What Happened to Miss Simone', bizarrely. Mad Max: Fury Road, The Revenant and Star Wars: The Force Awakens nab the total number of nominations available to each - three - and will face off against one another in all of those categories. Also claiming three nods are ace sound editor Martin Hernandez (all for The Revenant), who has worked on some of the most notable soundscapes in film since his debut on collaborator Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu's Amores Perros in 2000 (I've made my feelings on The Revenant pretty clear, but it thoroughly deserves all these sound nominations), and Paul Apelgren, whose work on three of 2015's blockbuster films sees him recognised with three mentions in the Music Score Editing category. Winners will be announced on the 27th of February, one day before the Oscars. Check out the nominees below:

Best Sound Effects & Foley
Lon Bender, Martín Hernández and Randy Thom (The Revenant)
Scott Hecker and Mark A. Mangini (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Daniel Laurie and Shannon Mills (Ant-Man)
Alan Robert Murray (Sicario)
Al Nelson and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle (Jurassic World)
Oliver Tarney (The Martian)
Mandell Winter (Southpaw)
Matthew Wood (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Dialogue & ADR
Lon Bender, Martín Hernández and Randy Thom (The Revenant)
Niall Brady (Room)
Scott Hecker and Mark A. Mangini (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Greg Hedgepath and Mark P. Stoeckinger (Straight Outta Compton)
Richard Hymns (Bridge of Spies)
Alan Robert Murray (Sicario)
Oliver Tarney (The Martian)
Matthew Wood (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Music Score Editing
Paul Apelgren (Jupiter Ascending)
Paul Apelgren (Jurassic World)
Paul Apelgren (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)
Bob Badami (Mad Max: Fury Road)
John Finklea (Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation)
Martín Hernández (The Revenant)
Tony Lewis (The Martian)
Ronald Webb (Creed)

Best Sound Effects, Foley, Dialogue & ADR – Animation
Christopher S. Aud and Aaron Glascock (Anomalisa)
Anthony Bayman and Adrian Rhodes (Shaun the Sheep Movie)
Ren Klyce and Shannon Mills (Inside Out)
Dennis Leonard (Minions)
Shannon Mills (The Good Dinosaur)
Geoffrey G. Rubay (Hotel Transylvania 2)
Randy Thom and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle (The Peanuts Movie)

Best Sound Editing – Documentary
Christopher Barnett and Tim Nielsen (Racing Extinction)
Bob Bronow (The Wrecking Crew)
Cameron Frankley (Cobain: Montage of Heck)
Luke Gibleon and Mark P. Stoeckinger (A Faster Horse)
Stephen Griffiths and Andy Shelley (Amy)
Pete Horner (Best of Enemies)
Oleg Kulchytskyi (Winter on Fire)
Tony Volante (What Happened, Miss Simone?)

Best Sound Effects, Foley, Dialogue & ADR – Foreign Film
Amrit Pritam Dutta and Resul Pookutty (Unfreedom)
Markus Glunz and Peter Staubli (Northmen: A Viking Saga)
Enrique Greiner and Frédéric le Louet (Days of Grace)
Zányi Tamás (Son of Saul)

Best Music Editing in a Musical
Amanda Goodpaster (Pitch Perfect 2)
Nicholas Renbeck (Love & Mercy)
Jason Ruder (Straight Outta Compton)