Monday, 11 January 2016


The Denver Film Critics Society gave us a few clues - as it always does - regarding which films it was set to award today, when it announced its nominations in apparently ranked order! Save a few categories which would make more sense if reversed (both now and then, but who cares), things turned out roughly as expected. Spotlight wins Best Picture, though otherwise only Original Screenplay; only Mad Max: Fury Road joins it in claiming two awards total, as the critics in Denver spread the wealth. Check it out:

Best Picture

Best Director
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)

Best Actress
Brie Larson (Room)

Best Supporting Actor
Sylvester Stallone (Creed)

Best Supporting Actress
Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)

Best Original Screenplay
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Adam McKay and Charles Randolph (The Big Short)

Best Visual Effects
Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Score
Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight)

Best Song
Andrew Cedar, Justin Franks, Charlie Puth and Cameron Thomaz - 'See You Again' (Furious 7)

Best Animated Film
Inside Out

Best Documentary
The Look of Silence

Best Foreign Language Film
Son of Saul

Best Comedy
What We Do in the Shadows

Best Science Fiction / Horror Film
The Martian