Wednesday, 6 January 2016


Who'd have thought it? Of all the guilds, the often-questionable Writers Guild of America remembered Carol. Phyllis Nagy's exquisite script for Todd Haynes' beautiful film is among the five nominees for Adapted Screenplay, which also helps boost Trumbo's campaign a bit with a nomination for John McNamara. Winners will be announced on the 13th of February. Check out the nominees:

Best Original Screenplay
Andrea Berloff, Jonathan Herman, S. Leigh Savidge and Alan Wenkus (Straight Outta Compton)
Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Bridge of Spies)
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Amy Schumer (Trainwreck)
Taylor Sheridan (Sicario)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Drew Goddard – based on the novel by Andy Weir (The Martian)
Adam McKay and Charles Randolph – based on the book by Michael Lewis (The Big Short)
John McNamara – based on the biography by Bruce Cook (Trumbo)
Phyllis Nagy – based on the novel ‘The Price of Salt’ by Patricia Highsmith (Carol)
Aaron Sorkin – based on the book by Walter Isaacson (Steve Jobs)

Best Documentary Screenplay
Amy Berg (Prophet’s Prey)
Robert Cohen (Being Canadian)
Alex Gibney (Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief)
Brett Morgen (Cobain: Montage of Heck)