Tuesday, 16 August 2016


Yet more additions to the lineup for the 2016 Toronto International Film Festival! This year's City to City slate focuses on Lagos, with eight new titles from the capital of Nigeria, one of the world's most active national film industries. And two Lagos-based actors, Somkele Iyamah-Ighalam and O. C. Ukeje, receive the TIFF Rising Star awards, while director Kunle Afolayan and actor Genevieve Nnaji will feature in an In Conversation With... session. More high-profile titles appear in the Special Presentations and Masters sections, including world premieres from directors like Walter Hill, Hong Sang Soo and Andrzej Wajda, while two more Galas have been announced. Check out announcements one, two and three from TIFF so far, and the latest choices below.

Norman: The Moderate Rise and Tragic Fall of a New York Fixer (Joseph Cedar)
The Promise (Terry George)

Special Presentation
(Re)Assignment (Walter Hill)
150 Milligrams (Emmanuelle Bercot)
The Bleeder (Philippe Falardeau)
Brain on Fire (Gerard Barrett)
Burn Your Maps (Jordan Roberts)
Christine (Antonio Campos)
The Duellist (Alexey Mizgirev)
The Exception (David Leveaux)
I, Daniel Blake (Ken Loach)
In Dubious Battle (James Franco)
The Long Excuse (Nishikawa Miwa)
Rage (Lee Sang Il)
Voyage of Time (Terrence Malick)
Wakefield (Robin Swicord)

After the cut, a whole bunch more sections, including the City to City focus on Lagos.

After the Storm (Koreeda Hirokazu)
Afterimage (Andrzej Wajda)
Anatomy of Violence (Deepa Mehta)
The Beautiful Days of Aranjuez (Wim Wenders)
Fire at Sea (Gianfranco Rosi)
Graduation (Cristian Mungiu)
Hissein Habre, A Chadian Tragedy (Mahamat-Saleh Haroun)
J: Beyond Flamenco (Carlos Saura)
Julieta (Pedro Almodovar)
Land of the Gods (Goran Paskaljevic)
Ma' Rosa (Brillante Mendoza)
The Net (Kim Ki Duk)
Never Ever (Benoit Jacquot)
Once Again (Adoor Gopalakrishnan)
Personal Shopper (Olivier Assayas)
A Quiet Passion (Terence Davies)
Safari (Ulrich Seidl)
Sieranevada (Cristi Puiu)
Sweet Dreams (Marco Bellocchio)
The Unknown Girl (Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne)
We Can't Make the Same Mistake Twice (Alanis Obomsawin)
Yourself and Yours (Hong Sang Soo)

Austerlitz (Sergei Loznitsa)
By the Time It Gets Dark (Anocha Suwichakornpong)
The Death of Louis XIV (Albert Serra)
The Dreamed Ones (Ruth Beckermann)
The Dreamed Path (Angela Schanelec)
General Report II. The New Abduction of Europe (Pere Portabella)
Hermia & Helena (Matias Pineiro)
The Human Surge (Eduardo Williams)
I Had Nowhere to Go (Douglas Gordon)
Kekszakallu (Gaston Solnicki)
Mimosas (Oliver Laxe)
The Ornithologist (Joao Pedro Rodrigues)
Ta'ang (Wang Bing)
The Woman Who Left (Lav Diaz)

Contemporary World Cinema
After Love (Joachim Lafosse)
The Animal's Wife (Victor Gaviria)
Apprentice (Boo Jun Feng)
Aquarius (Kleber Mendonca Filho)
Ayiti Mon Amour (Guetty Felin)
Brooks, Meadows and Lovely Faces (Yousry Nasrallah)
Clair Obscur (Yesim Ustaoglu)
Death in Sarajevo (Danis Tanovic)
A Decent Woman (Lukas Valenta Rinner)
Ember (Zeki Demirkubuz)
The Fixer (Adrian Sitaru)
Handsome Devil (John Butler)
Heaven Will Wait (Marie-Castille Mention-Schaar)
In Between (Maysaloun Hamoud)
Indivisible (Edoardo de Angelis)
Marie Curie, The Courage of Knowledge (Marie Noelle)
Mister Universo (Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel)
Past Life (Avi Nesher)
The Patriarch (Lee Tamahori)
Pyromaniac (Erik Skjoldbjaerg)
The Rehearsal (Alison MacLean)
The Road to Mandalay (Midi Z.)
Santa & Andres (Carlos Lechuga)
Tamara and the Ladybug (Lucia Carreras)
Tramps (Adam Leon)
Vaya (Akin Omotoso)
We Are Never Alone (Petr Vaclav)
The Wedding Ring (Rahmatou Keita)
White Sun (Deepah Rauniyar)
The Women's Balcony (Emil Ben Shimon)
Zacma: Blindness (Ryszard Bugajski)

City to City
76 (Izu Ojukwu)
93 Days (Steve Gukas)
The Arbitration (Niyi Akinmolayan)
Green White Green (Abba Makama)
Just Not Married (Uduak-Obong Patrick)
Okafor's Law (Omoni Oboli)
Taxi Driver (Daniel Emeke Oriaki)
The Wedding Party (Kemi Adetiba)

Free Installations / Special Screenings
Ana Mendieta: Siluetas (Ana Mendieta)
Nightlife (Cyprien Gaillard)
Rudzienko (Sharon Lockhart)
Singularity (Albert Serra)

Wavelengths 1: The Fire Within
Silueta Sangrienta (Ana Mendieta)
Ha Terra (Ana Vaz)
Venus Delta (Antoinette Zwirchmayr)
025 Sunset Red (Laida Lertxundi)
Untitled, 1925 (Madi Piller)
Children of Lir (Katherin McInnis)
Burning Mountains That Spew Flame (Samuel M. Delgado and Helena Giron)
Firework Piece (Ana Mendieta)
Wavelengths 2: Incantati
Incantati (Daniele Huillet and Jean-Marie Straub)
Cilaos (Camilo Restrepo)
An Aviation Field (Joana Pimenta)
Strange Vision of Seeing Things (Ryan Ferko)
Ears, Nose and Throat (Kevin Jerome Everson)
Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon (Nishikawa Tomonari)
Luna e Santur (Joshua Gen Solondz)
Wavelengths 3: Post-Performance
Untitled (Bjorn Kammerer)
What's New (Nina Konnemann)
Foyer (Ismail Bahri)
350 MYA (Terra Long)
I'll Remember You as You Were, Not as What You'll Become (Sky Hopinka)
Dark Adaptation (Chris Gehman)
The Watershow Extravaganza (Sophie Michael)
Wavelengths 4: Indefinite
Flowers of the Sky (Janie Geiser)
Ayhan and Me (Belit Sag)
As Without So Within (Manuela de Laborde)
Indefinite Pitch (James N. Kienitz Wilkins)