Sunday, 4 December 2016


It's always interesting to note, early into awards season, how the race is shaping up. This year, the most interesting facet of the race appears to be how uninteresting it currently is, as the same names keep turning up in the same categories. The Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association nominations contribute to that narrative with a thoroughly predictable slate. It only leaves space for us to see if any voting group, critic or industry, should decide to shake things up from here out. Winners announced on the 5th of December - that's tomorrow, so stay tuned!

Best Film
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
David MacKenzie (Hell or High Water)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Actress
Amy Adams (Arrival)
Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Joel Edgerton (Loving)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis (Fences)
Greta Gerwig (20th Century Women)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Molly Shannon (Other People)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Ben Foster (Hell or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Original Screenplay
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos (The Lobster)
Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Luke Davies - adapted from the memoir A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley (Lion)
Tom Ford - based on the novel Tony and Susan by Austin Wright (Nocturnal Animals)
Eric Heisserer - based on the story Story of Your Life by Ted Chiang (Arrival)
Patrick Ness - based on his novel (A Monster Calls)
August Wilson - based on his play (Fences)

Best Cinematography
Stephane Fontaine (Jackie)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Seamus McGarvey (Nocturnal Animals)
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)
Bradford Young (Arrival)

Best Editing
Tom Cross (La La Land)
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders (Moonlight)
Blu Murray (Sully)
Sebastian Sepulveda (Jackie)
Joe Walker (Arrival)

Best Production Design
Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Paul Hotte and Patrice Vermette (Arrival)
Craig Lathrop (The Witch)
Veronique Melery and Jean Rabasse (Jackie)
Sandy Reynolds-Wasco and David Wasco (La La Land)

Best Original Score
Nicholas Britell (Moonlight)
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
Johann Johannsson (Arrival)
Mica Levi (Jackie)
Cliff Martinez (The Neon Demon)

Best Acting Ensemble
20th Century Women
Hell or High Water
Manchester by the Sea

Best Animated Feature
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
Sausage Party

Best Documentary
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America

Best Foreign Language Film
The Handmaiden
The Salesman
Toni Erdmann

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington D.C.
Jason Bourne
Miss Sloane

Best Youth Performance
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Lewis MacDougall (A Monster Calls)
Sunny Pawar (Lion)
Hailee Steinfeld (The Edge of Seventeen)
Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch)

Best Motion Capture Performance
Liam Neeson (A Monster Calls)
Mark Rylance (The BFG)

Best Voice Performance
Jason Bateman (Zootopia)
Auli'i Cravalho (Moana)
Ellen DeGeneres (Finding Dory)
Ginnifer Goodwin (Zootopia)
Liam Neeson (A Monster Calls)