Tuesday, 20 December 2016


The London Critics Circle is one of the world's oldest and most prestigious critics groups, and today they've announced their film nominations for 2016. Love & Friendship and Moonlight boast the most nominations each, with seven and eight respectively. Winners will be announced on the 22nd of January at a ceremony in the British capital.

Film of the Year
American Honey
Fire at Sea
I, Daniel Blake
La La Land
Love & Friendship
Manchester by the Sea
Nocturnal Animals
Son of Saul
Toni Erdmann

Director of the Year
Maren Ade (Toni Erdmann)
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Nemes Laszlo (Son of Saul)

Actress of the Year
Amy Adams (Arrival)
Kate Beckinsale (Love & Friendship)
Sandra Huller (Toni Erdmann)
Isabelle Huppert (Things to Come)
Emma Stone (La La Land)

Actor of the Year
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Adam Driver (Paterson)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nocturnal Animals)
Peter Simonischek (Toni Erdmann)

Supporting Actress of the Year
Viola Davis (Fences)
Greta Gerwig (20th Century Women)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Riley Keough (American Honey)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Supporting Actor of the Year
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Tom Bennett (Love & Friendship)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Shia LaBeouf (American Honey)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Screenwriter of the Year
Maren Ade (Toni Erdmann)
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Whit Stillman (Love & Friendship)

Technical Achievement of the Year
Sylvain Bellemare (Arrival) - sound design
Sturla Brandth Grovlen (Victoria) - cinematography
John Carney and Gary Clark (Sing Street) - music
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land) - music
Mica Levi (Jackie) - music
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders (Moonlight) - editing
Gary Powell (Jason Bourne) - stunts
Robbie Ryan (American Honey) - cinematography
Neal Scanlan (Rogue One) - visual effects
Mark Tildesley (High-Rise) - production design

Documentary of the Year
The Beatles: Eight Days a Week - The Touring Years
The Eagle Huntress
Fire at Sea
Life, Animated

Foreign-Language Film of the Year
Fire at Sea
Son of Saul
Things to Come
Toni Erdmann

British / Irish Film of the Year
American Honey
I, Daniel Blake
Love & Friendship
Sing Street

British / Irish Actress of the Year
Kate Beckinsale (Love & Friendship)
Rebecca Hall (Christine)
Naomie Harris (Collateral Beauty / Moonlight / Our Kind of Traitor)
Ruth Negga (Iona / Loving)
Hayley Squires (I, Daniel Blake)

British / Irish Actor of the Year
Tom Bennett (Life on the Road / Love & Friendship)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge / Silence)
Hugh Grant (Florence Foster Jenkins)
Dave Johns (I, Daniel Blake)
David Oyelowo (Queen of Katwe / A United Kingdom)

Breakthrough British / Irish Filmmaker of the Year
Babak Anvari (Under the Shadow)
Mike Carey (The Girl with All the Gifts)
Guy Hibbert (Eye in the Sky / A United Kingdom)
Peter Middleton and James Spinney (Notes on Blindness)
Rachel Tunnard (Adult Life Skills)

Young British / Irish Performer of the Year
Ruby Barnhill (The BFG)
Lewis MacDougall (A Monster Calls)
Sennia Nanua (The Girl with All the Gifts)
Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch)
Ferdia Walsh-Peelio (Sing Street)

British / Irish Short Film of the Year
Isabella (Duncan Cowles and Ross Hogg)
Jacked (Rene Pannevis)
Sweet Maddie Stone (Brady Hood)
Tamara (Sofia Safonova)
Terminal (Natasha Waugh)

No comments:

Post a Comment