Sunday, 11 December 2016


This is exactly how you do it. Maren Ade makes history by becoming the first woman to direct the Best European Film prize at the prestigious European Film Awards. Toni Erdmann won not only the top award at tonight's ceremony in Wroclaw, it also took home Director, Actress, Actor and Screenplay awards, winning in every one of its categories. Alongside a win for My Life as a Courgette, the EFA's choices this year make me very pleased indeed. Check out the nominations at this link, and the award winners in full below.

European Film 2016
Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade, Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski and Michel Merkt)

European Director 2016
Maren Ade (Toni Erdmann)

European Actress 2016
Sandra Huller (Toni Erdmann)

European Actor 2016
Peter Simonischek (Toni Erdmann)

European Screenplay 2016
Maren Ade (Toni Erdmann)

Prix Carlo di Palma - European Cinematographer 2016
Camilla Hjelm Knudsen (Land of Mine)

European Editor 2016
Janus Billeskov Jansen and Anne Osterud (The Commune)

European Production Designer 2016
Alice Normington (Suffragette)

European Costume Designer 2016
Stefanie Bieker (Land of Mine)

European Sound Designer 2016
Radoslaw Ochnio (11 Minutes)

European Hair & Make-Up Artist 2016
Barbara Kreuzer (Land of Mine)

European Composer 2016
Ilya Demutsky (The Student)European Animated Feature Film 2016
My Life as a Courgette (Claude Barras and Max Karli)

European Documentary 2016
Fire at Sea (Roberto Cicutto, Paolo del Brocco, Camille Laemle, Serge Lalou, Donatella Palermo, Olivier Pere, Gianfranco Rosi and Martine Saade)

European Comedy 2016
A Man Called Ove (Annica Bellander Rune, Hannes Holm and Nicklas Wikstrom Nicastro)

European Short Film 2016
9 Days - From My Window in Aleppo (Jos de Putter, Issa Touma, Floor van der Meulen and Thomas Vroege)

FIPRESCI Prize for European Discovery
The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki (Juho Kuosmanen and Jussi Rantamaki)

People's Choice Award
Body (Malgorzata Szumowska)

European Co-Production Award
Leontine Petit

Lifetime Achievement Award
Jean-Claude Carriere

Honorary Award - European Achievement in World Cinema
Pierce Brosnan

Honorary Award of the EFA President and Board
Andrzej Wajda