Wednesday, 11 January 2017


To celebrate Silence's richly-deserved nomination from the American Society of Cinematographers, I post a picture of Lion. Very happy to note the former film making the cut here, and the same for James Laxton's lovely work on Moonlight. But I figure that both he and Greig Fraser will make way for Hail, Caesar! and Live by Night at this point when Oscar nominations are announced. Good to see the Spotlight Award now expanded to four nominees. The 4th of February is the official date for the 31st annual ASC Outstanding Achievement awards.

2016 ASC Award Theatrical Nominees
Greig Fraser (Lion)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Rodrigo Prieto (Silence)
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)
Bradford Young (Arrival)

2016 ASC Spotlight Award Nominees
Lol Crawley (The Childhood of a Leader)
Gorka Gomez Andreu (House of Others)
Ernesto Pardo (Tempestad)
Juliette van Dormael (My Angel)