Tuesday, 24 January 2017


The sensible few among us didn't show much sense after all - La La Land snags a bizarre and unwarranted Sound Editing nomination to bulldoze its way to a record-equalling 14 Oscar nominations. Its shock success isn't the only one among this year's Academy Awards slate, as Moonlight pretty much maxes out with eight mentions, while select figures such as Mel Gibson, Isabelle Huppert and Ruth Negga receive credit too. Alas, there are the usual losers, including a couple of significant snubs for Best Picture and Director nominee Arrival (including Amy Adams, sadly), and a near-total shut-out for Silence, unforgivably. The 89th annual Academy Awards take place just over a month from now, on the 26th of February.

Best Picture
Arrival (Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde and Aaron Ryder)
Fences (Todd Black, Scott Rudin and Denzel Washington)
Hacksaw Ridge (Bill Mechanic and David Permut)
Hell or High Water (Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn)
Hidden Figures (Peter Chernin, Donna Gigliotti, Theodore Melfi, Jenno Topping and Pharrell Williams)
La La Land (Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt)
Lion (Iain Canning, Angie Fielder and Emile Sherman)
Manchester by the Sea (Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Stewart and Kevin J. Walsh)
Moonlight (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Adele Romanski)

Best Directing
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Emma Stone (La La Land)
Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Viola Davis (Fences)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Nicole Kidman (Lion)
Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Dev Patel (Lion)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Writing - Original Screenplay
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos (The Lobster)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Mike Mills (20th Century Women)
Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)

Best Writing - Adapted Screenplay
Luke Davies (Lion)
Eric Heisserer (Arrival)
Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)
Theodore Melfi and Allison Schroeder (Hidden Figures)
August Wilson (Fences)

Best Cinematography
Greig Fraser (Lion)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Rodrigo Prieto (Silence)
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)
Bradford Young (Arrival)

Best Film Editing
Tom Cross (La La Land)
John Gilbert (Hacksaw Ridge)
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders (Moonlight)
Jake Roberts (Hell or High Water)
Joe Walker (Arrival)

Best Production Design
Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena (Passengers)
Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh (Hail, Caesar!)
Paul Hotte and Patrice Vermette (Arrival)
Sandy Reynolds-Wasco and David Wasco (La La Land)

Best Costume Design
Colleen Atwood (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Consolata Boyle (Florence Foster Jenkins)
Madeline Fontaine (Jackie)
Joanna Johnston (Allied)
Mary Zophres (La La Land)

Best Sound Mixing
Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude la Haye (Arrival)
Peter Grace, Robert MacKenzie, Kevin O'Connell and Andy Wright (Hacksaw Ridge)
Jeffrey J. Haboush, Mac Ruth and Gary Summers (13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi)
Lee Ai Ling, Steven Morrow and Andy Nelson (La La Land)
David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson (Rogue One)

Best Sound Editing
Bub Asman and Alan Robert Murray (Sully)
Sylvain Bellemare (Arrival)
Mildred Iatrou and Lee Ai Ling (La La Land)
Robert MacKenzie and Andy Wright (Hacksaw Ridge)
Wylie Stateman and Renee Tondelli (Deepwater Horizon)

Best Visual Effects
Jason Billington, Burt Dalton, Craig Hammack and Jason Snell (Deepwater Horizon)
Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould (Doctor Strange)
Neil Corbould, Hal T. Hickel, John Knoll and Mohen Leo (Rogue One)
Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff (Kubo and the Two Strings)
Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon and Adam Valdez (The Jungle Book)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Richard Alonzo and Joel Harlow (Star Trek Beyond)
Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson (Suicide Squad)
Love Larson and Eva von Bahr (A Man Called Ove)

Best Music (Original Score)
Volker Bertelmann and Dustin O'Halloran (Lion)
Nicholas Britell (Moonlight)
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
Mica Levi (Jackie)
Thomas Newman (Passengers)

Best Music (Original Song)
Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul - 'Audition (The Fools Who Dream)' (La La Land)
Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul - 'City Of Stars' (La La Land)
Max Martin, Karl Johan Schuster and Justin Timberlake - 'Can't Stop The Feeling' (Trolls)
Lin-Manuel Miranda - 'How Far I'll Go' (Moana)
J. Ralph and Gordon Sumner - 'The Empty Chair' (Jim: The James Foley Story)

Best Animated Feature Film
Kubo and the Two Strings (Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner)
Moana (Ron Clements, John Musker and Osnat Shurer)
My Life as a Courgette (Claude Barras and Max Karli)
The Red Turtle (Michael Dudok de Wit and Suzuki Toshio)
Zootopia (Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer)

Best Documentary Feature
13th (Spencer Averick, Howard Barish and Ava DuVernay)
Fire at Sea (Donatella Palermo and Gianfranco Rosi)
I Am Not Your Negro (Remi Grellety, Hebert Peck and Raoul Peck)
Life, Animated (Julie Goldman and Roger Ross Williams)
O.J.: Made in America (Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow)

Best Foreign Language Film
Land of Mine (Martin Zandvliet) - Denmark
A Man Called Ove (Hannes Holm) - Sweden
The Salesman (Asghar Farhadi) - Iran
Tanna (Martin Butler and Bentley Dean) - Australia
Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade) - Germany

Best Short Film (Live Action)
Ennemis Interieurs (Selim Azzazi)
La Femme et le TGV (Giacun Caduff and Timo von Gunten)
Silent Nights (Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson)
Sing (Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardi)
Timecode (Juanjo Gimenez)

Best Short Film (Animated)
Blind Vaysha (Theodore Ushev)
Borrowed Time (Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj)
Pear Cider and Cigarettes (Cara Speller and Robert Valley)
Pearl (Patrick Osborne)
Piper (Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer)

Best Documentary Short
4.1 Miles (Daphne Matziaraki)
Extremis (Dan Krauss)
Joe's Violin (Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen)
Watani: My Homeland (Stephen Ellis and Marcel Mettelsiefen)
The White Helmets (Joanna Natasegara and Orlando von Einsiedel)