Tuesday, 3 January 2017


One must simply assume that voters in the American Cinema Editors were not treated - and it certainly is a treat - to screeners of Martin Scorsese's Silence, as the legendary Thelma Schoonmaker fails to make their Drama nominations this year. Otherwise, no big surprises here. ACE Eddie voters - get thee to an arthouse, and write Mrs. Powell's name in this day! Awards will be announced and presented on the 27th of January.

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)
John Gilbert (Hacksaw Ridge)
Jennifer Lame (Manchester by the Sea)
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders (Moonlight)
Jake Roberts (Hell or High Water)
Joe Walker (Arrival)

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)
Julian Clarke (Deadpool)
Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Hail, Caesar!)
Tom Cross (La La Land)
Mark Livolsi (The Jungle Book)
Yorgos Mavropsaridis (The Lobster)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film
Jeff Draheim (Moana)
Jeremy Milton and Fabienne Rawley (Zootopia)
Christopher Murrie (Kubo and the Two Strings)

Best Edited Documentary (Feature)
Spencer Averick (13th)
Paul Crowder (The Beatles: Eight Days a Week - The Touring Years)
Eli B. Despres (Weiner)
Bret Granato, Maya Mumma and Ben Sozanski (O.J.: Made in America)
Matthew Hamachek (Amanda Knox)