Thursday, 12 January 2017


Surprised? The Weinstein Company was always gonna work Lion for all it's worth and then some, so you shouldn't be. Adding in the Documentary Director nominations announced yesterday. Winners announced on the 4th of February.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Garth Davis (Lion)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary
Otto Bell (The Eagle Huntress)
Ezra Edelman (O.J.: Made in America)
Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg (Weiner)
Raoul Peck (I Am Not Your Negro)
Roger Ross Williams (Life, Animated)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director
Garth Davis (Lion)
Kelly Fremon Craig (The Edge of Seventeen)
Tim Miller (Deadpool)
Nate Parker (The Birth of a Nation)
Dan Trachtenberg (10 Cloverfield Lane)