Monday, 6 February 2017


It was all going La La Land's way this awards season en route to Oscar glory, until the American Society of Cinematographers rang in. Long-underappreciated DP Greig Fraser wins the ASC's top award for Lion in a remarkable coup - many thought he wouldn't even be nominated - as Garth Davis' debut feature film continues to pick up goodwill with awards voters and audiences alike. Don't expect him to surprise at Oscar - that's probably still La La Land's - but this is a pleasant victory for Fraser and his film nonetheless. And an excellent choice in the Spotlight category too. Check out the ASC's nominations at this link.

Theatrical Award
Greig Fraser (Lion)

Spotlight Award
Gorka Gomez Andreu (House of Others)

Vilmos Zsigmond Graduate Heritage Award
Andrew Jeric (Prisoner)

Vilmos Zsigmond Undergraduate Heritage Award
Emmett Sutherland (Closer)

Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award
Colin F. Shepherd (Into the Microscope)

Board of Governors Award
Denzel Washington

Presidents Award
Nancy Schreiber

International Award
Philippe Rousselot

Lifetime Achievement Award
Edward Lachman