Monday, 6 February 2017


Trust the Chlotrudis Society to champion diversity once again, as representation remains the buzzword among awards groups. Films from around the world crop up in every one of the independent film society's categories, though it is Barry Jenkins' multi-Oscar-nominated LGBT+ drama Moonlight which leads the field with an impressive eight mentions. The 19th of March is the date for the announcement of Chlotrudis' awards.

Best Movie
The Handmaiden
Little Men
Manchester by the Sea
Mountains May Depart
Our Little Sister

Best Director
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Jia Zhang Ke (Mountains May Depart)
Koreeda Hirokazu (Our Little Sister)
Kelly Reichardt (Certain Women)
Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Cemetery of Splendour)

Best Actress
Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
Sonia Braga (Aquarius)
Imajyn Cardinal (The Saver)
Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Zhao Tao (Mountains May Depart)

Best Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Joel Edgerton (Loving)
Vincent Lindon (The Measure of a Man)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
Theo Taplitz (Little Men)

Best Supporting Actress
Paulina Garcia (Little Men)
Lily Gladstone (Certain Women)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Margo Martindale (The Hollars)
Rima Te Wiata (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Michael Barbieri (Little Men)
Ralph Fiennes (A Bigger Splash)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Luis Silva (From Afar)

Best Original Screenplay
Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos (The Lobster)
Grimur Hakonarson (Rams)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Kleber Mendonca Filho (Aquarius)
Matt Ross (Captain Fantastic)
Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias (Little Men)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Nikolaj Arcel - based on the novel by Jussi Adler-Olsen (Department Q: A Conspiracy of Faith)
Hannes Holm - based on the novel by Fredrik Backman (A Man Called Ove)
Koreeda Hirokazu - based on the manga by Yoshida Akimi - (Our Little Sister)
Kelly Reichardt - based on stories by Maile Meloy (Certain Women)
Whit Stillman - based on a novella by Jane Austen (Love & Friendship)
Wiebke von Carolsfeld - based on the novel by Edeet Ravel (The Saver)

Best Cinematography
Caroline Champetier (The Innocents)
Chung Chung Hoon (The Handmaiden)
Rodrigo Garcia (Cemetery of Splendour)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Marius Panduru (Aferim!)
Paul Yee (The Fits)

Best Editing
Lee Chatametikool (Cemetery of Splendour)
Matthieu Laclau (Mountains May Depart)
Elmer Leupen (Eisenstein in Guanajuato)
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders (Moonlight)
Jose Salcedo (Julieta)

Best Production Design
Cemetery of Splendour
The Handmaiden
Love & Friendship
Microbe & Gasoline

Best Use of Music in a Film
American Honey
Eisenstein in Guanajuato
Everybody Wants Some!!
Green Room
Sing Street

Best Performance by an Ensemble Cast
Certain Women
Don't Think Twice
Little Men
Our Little Sister

Best Documentary
City of Gold
Miss Sharon Jones!
Where to Invade Next

Buried Treasure Award
Best Worst Thing That Ever Could Have Happened...
The Fits
Free in Deed
Neon Bull
Take Me to the River
Under the Shadow