Monday, 20 February 2017


Berlinale 2017 has come to its close with the presentation of awards. The year's first major film festival makes Hungarian director Enyedi Ildiko's On Body and Soul the year's first major festival winner, taking the Golden Bear from the main competition, whose jury was led by Paul Verhoeven, and also faring very well from other juries in attendance. Check out the results in full below.

Golden Bear
On Body and Soul (Enyedi Ildiko)

Silver Bear for Jury Grand Prix
Felicite (Alain Gomis)

Silver Bear for Best Director
Aki Kaurismaki (The Other Side of Hope)

Silver Bear for Best Actress
Kim Min Hee (On the Beach at Night Alone)

Silver Bear for Best Actor
Georg Friedrich (Bright Nights)

Silver Bear for Best Script
Sebastian Lelio and Gonzalo Maza (A Fantastic Woman)

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution
Dana Bunescu (Ana, Mon Amour)

Silver Bear for Alfred Bauer Prize
Spoor (Agnieszka Holland)

More awards after the cut:

Ecumenical Jury Prizes

On Body and Soul (Enyedi Ildiko)

Competition - Special Mention
A Fantastic Woman (Sebastian Lelio)

Investigating Paradise (Merzak Allouache)

Panorama - Special Mention
I Am Not Your Negro (Raoul Peck)

Mama Colonel (Dieudo Hamadi)

Forum - Special Mention
El Mar la Mar (Joshua Bonnetta and J. P. Sniadecki)

Teddy Awards

Best Feature Film
A Fantastic Woman (Sebastian Lelio)

Special Jury Award
Close Knit (Ogigami Naoko)

Best Documentary- / Essay Film
Small Talk (Huang Hui Chen)

Best Short Film
My Gay Sister (Lia Hietala)

Special Teddy Award
Monika Treut


On Body and Soul (Enyedi Ildiko)

Pendular (Julia Murat)

A Feeling Greater Than Love (Mary Jirmanus Saba)

CICAE Art Cinema Awards

Centaur (Aktan Abdykalylov)

Newton (Amit V. Masurkar)

Generation 14Plus Awards

Best Film
Butterfly Kisses (Rafael Kapelinski)

Special Mention
Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves (Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie)

Crystal Bear for Best Short Film
Wolfe (Claire Randall)

Special Mention
SNIP (Terril Calder)

Generation KPlus Awards

Grand Prix
Shkola Nomer 3 (Georg Genoux and Yelizaveta Smith)

Special Mention
Ben Niao (Ji Huang and Otsuka Ryuji)

Grand Prix for Best Short Film
The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do (Juanita Onzaga)

Special Mention for Best Short Film
U Plavetnilo (Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic)

Kompagnon Fellowship Awards

Perspektive Deutsches Kino Award
Der Grune Wellensittich (Elsa Kremser and Levin Peter)

Berlinale Talents Award
System Crasher (Nora Fingscheidt)

Robert Bosch Stiftung for International Co-Operation Germany / Arab World Film Prizes

Animation Film Prize
Night (Ahmad Saleh)

Documentary Film Prize
Behind Closed Doors (Yakout Elhababi)

Short Film Prize
The Trap (Nada Riyadh)

Panorama Audience Awards

First Place
Insyriated (Philippe van Leeuw)

Second Place
Close Knit (Ogigami Naoko)

Third Place
1945 (Ferenc Torok)

Panorama Dokumente - First Place
I Am Not Your Negro (Raoul Peck)

Panorama Dokumente - Second Place
Chavela (Catherine Gund and Daresha Kyi)

Panorama Dokumente - Third Place
Ghost Hunting (Rael Andoni)

Other Awards

Amnesty International Film Prize
Devil's Freedom (Everardo Gonzalez)

ARTE International Prize
Lost Country (Vladimir Perisic)

Caligari Film Prize
El Mar la Mar (Joshua Bonnetta and J. P. Sniadecki)

The Best of All Worlds (Adrian Goiginger)

Eurimages Co-Production Development Award
The Wife of the Pilot (Razor Film Produktion)

Guild Prize
The Party (Sally Potter)

Heiner Carow Prize
Five Stars (Annekatrin Hendel)

VFF Talent Highlight Award
Nefes Polat (The Bus to Amerika)

Berliner Morgenpost Readers' Jury Award
On Body and Soul (Enyedi Ildiko)

HARVEY - MANNER Readers' Jury Award
God's Own Country (Francis Lee)

Tagesspiegel Readers' Jury Award
Mama Colonel (Dieudo Hamadi)