Tuesday, 16 December 2014


You may call it predictable, I call it appropriate. And prescient. And deserved. Mr. TurnerMike Leigh's biopic of the legendary British painter, leads the London Critics' Circle Film Award nominations with a total of seven. It does qualify for the group's British awards as well as their international ones, to be clear, but it's nevertheless a strong haul for a film some had written out of contention in major categories. Eat it, haters. The London critics will announce their winners from this sterling slate of nominees on the 18th of January. All the nominations:

Film of the Year
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Mr. Turner
The Theory of Everything
Under the Skin

Director of the Year
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jonathan Glazer (Under the Skin)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Mike Leigh (Mr. Turner)

Actor of the Year
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)

Actress of the Year
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Essie Davis (The Babadook)
Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin)
Julianne Moore (Maps to the Stars)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Supporting Actor of the Year
Riz Ahmed (Nightcrawler)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Supporting Actress of the Year
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Marion Bailey (Mr. Turner)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Agata Kulesza (Ida)
Emma Stone (Birdman)

Screenwriter of the Year
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone and Alejandro Gonález Iñárritu (Birdman)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Technical Achievement Award
Mark Bridges – costumes (Inherent Vice)
Tom Cross – editing (Whiplash)
Mikhail Krichman – cinematography (Leviathan)
Joe Letteri – visual effects (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)
Mica Levi – score (Under the Skin)
Emmanuel Lubezki – cinematography (Birdman)
Dick Pope – cinematography (Mr. Turner)
Adam Stockhausen – production design (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Kasia Walicka-Maimone – costumes (A Most Violent Year)
Chris Wyatt – editing (’71)

Documentary of the Year
20,000 Days on Earth
Next Goal Wins
Night Will Fall

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Norte, the End of History
Two Days, One Night
Winter Sleep

British Film of the Year
The Imitation Game
Mr. Turner
The Theory of Everything
Under the Skin

British Actor of the Year
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Tom Hardy (The Drop / Locke)
Jack O’Connell (’71 / Starred Up / Unbroken)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)

British Actress of the Year
Emily Blunt (Edge of Tomorrow / Into the Woods)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Keira Knightley (Begin Again / The Imitation Game / Laggies)
Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Belle)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl / What We Did on Our Holiday)

Breakthrough British Filmmaker of the Year
Hossein Amini (The Two Faces of January)
Elaine Constantine (Northern Soul)
Yann Demange (’71)
Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard (20,000 Days on Earth)
James Kent (Testament of Youth)

Young British Actor of the Year
Daniel Huttlestone (Into the Woods)
Alex Lawther (The Imitation Game)
Corey McKinley (’71)
Will Poulter (The Maze Runner / Plastic)
Saoirse Ronan (The Grand Budapest Hotel)