Tuesday, 5 January 2016


The Art Directors Guild fucks up too! At least, they could have nominated Carol, one of the year's finest achievements in production design, wouldn't you agree? At least Judy Becker picked up a nomination for Joy, and another Cate Blanchett movie, Cinderella, looks set to slay the competition in the Fantasy category... unless the idiocy that inspired the Carol snub rears its head again. Winners announced on the 31st of January.

Excellence in Production Design – Period
Jack Fisk (The Revenant)
Mark Ricker (Trumbo)
Thomas E. Sanders (Crimson Peak)
Eve Stewart (The Danish Girl)
Adam Stockhausen (Bridge of Spies)

Excellence in Production Design – Fantasy
Rick Carter and Darren Gilford (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)
Scott Chambliss (Tomorrowland)
Dante Ferretti (Cinderella)
Colin Gibson (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Edward Verreaux (Jurassic Park)

Excellence in Production Design – Contemporary
Judy Becker (Joy)
Mark Digby (Ex Machina)
Dennis Gassner (Spectre)
Arthur Max (The Martian)
Patrice Vermette (Sicario)