Tuesday, 5 January 2016


It's not like the Producers Guild of America has that much agency. Look at the ten films they chose as the best of the year: any of these titles really that out of the blue? Anything you haven't seen anywhere else? So just what is it that inspires them to snub the New York Film Critics Circle's Best Picture of 2015, the critics groups and polls' third favourite according to SOS' Critics' Tally, the highest-rated English-language film of the year on Metacritic, Carol? Do we think the PGA voters are a little bit narrow-minded? A little bit wary of something? A little bit homophobic, maybe? Is that what we think? Because they found places for all these heterosexual-focused titles! Even those nice homophobes in Straight Outta Compton. Maybe there's your answer. They'll announce their award winners on the 23rd of January. Nominees below:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
The Big Short (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Brad Pitt)
Bridge of Spies (Kristie Macosko Krieger, Marc Platt and Steven Spielberg)
Brooklyn (Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey)
Ex Machina (Andrew MacDonald and Allon Reich)
Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller and Doug Mitchell)
The Martian (Mark Huffam, Simon Kinberg, Michael Schaefer and Ridley Scott)
The Revenant (Steve Golin, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Arnon Milchan, Mary Parent and Keith Redmon)
Sicario (Basil Iwanyk, Edward L. McDonnell and Molly Smith)
Spotlight (Blye Pagon Faust, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Michael Sugar)
Straight Outta Compton (Matt Alvarez, Scott Bernstein, F. Gary Gray, O’Shea Jackson and Andre Young)

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
Anomalisa (Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman and Rosa Tran)
The Good Dinosaur (Denise Ream)
Inside Out (Jonas Rivera)
Minions (Janet Healy and Chris Meledandri)
The Peanuts Movie (Craig Schulz and Michael J. Travers)

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures
Amy (James Gay-Rees)
The Hunting Ground (Amy Ziering)
The Look of Silence (Signe Byrge Sørensen)
Meru (Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin)
Something Better to Come (Sigrid Dyekjær and Hanna Polak)