Tuesday, 10 January 2017


The Georgia Film Critics Association may sound like a big deal, because a lot of good art comes out of Georgia, but it's not. Here are their 2016 nominations, for which the winners will be declared this Friday, the 13th. Expect great terrors indeed!

Best Picture
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea
The Nice Guys
O.J.: Made in America

Best Director
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Pablo Larrain (Jackie)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Actress
Amy Adams (Arrival)
Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Colin Farrell (The Lobster)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Tom Hanks (Sully)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis (Fences)
Greta Gerwig (20th Century Women)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Nicole Kidman (Lion)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Ben Foster (Hell or High Water)
John Goodman (10 Cloverfield Lane)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Original Screenplay
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos (The Lobster)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Noah Oppenheim (Jackie)
Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jay Cocks and Martin Scorsese (Silence)
Tom Ford (Nocturnal Animals)
Eric Heisserer (Arrival)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
August Wilson (Fences)

Best Cinematography
Chung Chung Hoon (The Handmaiden)
Stephane Fontaine (Jackie)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Rodrigo Prieto (Silence)
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)
Bradford Young (Arrival)

Best Production Design
Richard Bridgland and David Utley (The Nice Guys)
Dante Ferretti and Huang Wen Ying (Silence)
Halina Gebarowicz and Jean Rabasse (Jackie)
Austin Gorg and David Wasco (La La Land)
Isabelle Guay and Patrice Vermette (Arrival)

Best Original Score
Volker Bertelmann and Dustin O'Halloran (Lion)
Nicholas Britell (Moonlight)
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
Johann Johannsson (Arrival)
Mica Levi (Jackie)

Best Original Song
Eddie Arkin and Lorraine Feather - 'The Rules Don't Apply' (Rules Don't Apply)
Tom Brenneck, Binky Griptite, David Guy, Homer Jenkins, Sharon Jones, Bosco Mann, Neal Sugarman, Emcee Bugaloo Velez and Otis Youngblood - 'I'm Still Here' (Miss Sharon Jones!)
Gary Clark - 'Drive It Like You Stole It' (Sing Street)
Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul - 'Audition (The Fools Who Dream)' (La La Land)
Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul - 'City of Stars' (La La Land)
Lin-Manuel Miranda - 'How Far I'll Go' (Moana)

Best Ensemble
20th Century Women
Everybody Wants Some!!
Hidden Figures
Hell or High Water
Manchester by the Sea
Sing Street

Best Animated Film
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
Kung Fu Panda 3

Best Documentary Film
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America

Best Foreign Film
The Handmaiden
Things to Come
Toni Erdmann

Breakthrough Award
Mahershala Ali (Free State of Jones / Hidden Figures / Kicks / Moonlight)
Alden Ehrenreich (Hail, Caesar! / Rules Don't Apply)
Lily Gladstone (Buster's Mal Heart / Certain Women)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Angourie Rice (The Nice Guys / Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows)