Tuesday, 10 January 2017


BAFTA chimes in on awards season 2016-17, rather unwelcomely in this writer's opinion. La La Land leads the pack, predictably, with 11 nominations, but a number of flunks across the board take a less predictable route toward spoiling the set - Aaron Taylor-Johnson once again gets into Best Supporting Actor over Michael Shannon for Nocturnal Animals, Martin Scorsese's Silence shows up not once, and Barry Jenkins misses a Best Director nod for Moonlight. Indeed, Moonlight notches up a mere four mentions. The BAFTAs are held on the 12th of February.

Best Film
Arrival (Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde and Aaron Ryder)
I, Daniel Blake (Rebecca O'Brien)
La La Land (Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt)
Manchester by the Sea (Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward and Kevin J. Walsh)
Moonlight (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Adele Romanski)

Best Director
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Tom Ford (Nocturnal Animals)
Ken Loach (I, Daniel Blake)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Leading Actress
Amy Adams (Arrival)
Emily Blunt (The Girl on the Train)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Emma Stone (La La Land)
Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Best Leading Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nocturnal Animals)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)

Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis (Fences)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Nicole Kidman (Lion)
Hayley Squires (I, Daniel Blake)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Hugh Grant (Florence Foster Jenkins)
Dev Patel (Lion)
Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Original Screenplay
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Paul Laverty (I, Daniel Blake)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Luke Davies (Lion)
Tom Ford (Nocturnal Animals)
Eric Heisserer (Arrival)
Andrew Knight and Robert Schenkkan (Hacksaw Ridge)
Theodore Melfi and Allison Schroeder (Hidden Figures)

Best Cinematography
Greig Fraser (Lion)
Seamus McGarvey (Nocturnal Animals)
Giles Nuttgens (Hell or High Water)
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)
Bradford Young (Arrival)

Best Editing
Tom Cross (La La Land)
John Gilbert (Hacksaw Ridge)
Jennifer Lame (Manchester by the Sea)
Joan Sobel (Nocturnal Animals)
Joe Walker (Arrival)

Best Production Design
John Bush and Charles Wood (Doctor Strange)
Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Meg Everist and Shane Valentino (Nocturnal Animals)
Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh (Hail, Caesar!)
Sandy Reynolds-Wasco and David Wasco (La La Land)

Best Costume Design
Colleen Atwood (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Consolata Boyle (Florence Foster Jenkins)
Madeline Fontaine (Jackie)
Joanna Johnston (Allied)
Mary Zophres (La La Land)

Best Sound
Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson and Ian Tapp (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Sylvain Bellemare, Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude la Haye (Arrival)
Peter Grace, Robert MacKenzie, Kevin O'Connell and Andy Wright (Hacksaw Ridge)
Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Lee Ai Ling, Steve A. Morrow and Andy Nelson (La La Land)
Dror Mohar, Mike Prestwood Smith, Wylie Stateman and David Wyman (Deepwater Horizon)

Best Special Visual Effects
Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould and Jonathan Fawkner (Doctor Strange)
Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz and David Watkins (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Neil Corbould, Hal T. Hickel, John Knoll, Mohen Leo and Nigel Sumner (Rogue One)
Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones and Adam Valdez (The Jungle Book)
Louis Morin (Arrival)

Best Makeup & Hair
J. Roy Helland and Daniel Phillips (Florence Foster Jenkins)
Amanda Knight, Neal Scanlan and Lisa Tomblin (Rogue One)
Donald Mowat and Yolanda Toussieng (Nocturnal Animals)
Shane Thomas (Hacksaw Ridge)
Jeremy Woodhead (Doctor Strange)

Best Original Music
Volker Bertelmann and Dustin O'Halloran (Lion)
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
Johann Johannsson (Arrival)
Abel Korzeniowski (Nocturnal Animals)
Mica Levi (Jackie)

Best Animated Film
Finding Dory (Andrew Stanton)
Kubo and the Two Strings (Travis Knight)
Moana (Ron Clements and John Musker)
Zootopia (Byron Howard and Rich Moore)

Best Documentary
13th (Ava DuVernay)
The Beatles: Eight Days a Week - The Touring Years (Ron Howard)
The Eagle Huntress (Otto Bell and Stacey Reiss)
Notes on Blindness (Peter Middleton and James Spinney)
Weiner (Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg)

Best Film Not in the English Language
Dheepan (Jacques Audiard and Pascal Caucheteux)
Julieta (Pedro Almodovar)
Mustang (Deniz Gamze Erguven and Charles Gillibert)
Son of Saul (Nemes Laszlo and Sipos Gabor)
Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade and Janine Jackowski)

Outstanding British Film
American Honey (Andrea Arnold, Lars Knudsen, Poiya Shahbazian and Jay van Hoy)
Denial (Gary Foster, David Hare, Mick Jackson and Russ Krasnoff)
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (David Heyman, Steve Kloves, J. K. Rowling, Lionel Wigram and David Yates)
I, Daniel Blake (Paul Laverty, Ken Loach and Rebecca O'Brien)
Notes on Blindness (Mike Brett, Jo-Jo Ellison, Steve Jamison, Peter Middleton and James Spinney)
Under the Shadow (Babak Anvari, Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill and Lucan Toh)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
George Amponsah and Dionne Walker (The Hard Stop)
Babak Anvari, Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill and Lucan Toh (Under the Shadow)
Mike Carey and Camille Gatin (The Girl with All the Gifts)
John Donnelly and Ben A. Williams (The Pass)
Jo-Jo Ellison, Peter Middleton and James Spinney (Notes on Blindness)

Best British Short Film
Consumed (Richard John Seymour)
Home (Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy and Scott O'Donnell)
Mouth of Hell (Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith and Michael Wilson)
The Party (Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin and Conor MacNeill)
Standby (Jack Hannon and Charlotte Regan)

Best British Short Animation
The Alan Dimension (Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle and Millie Marsh)
A Love Story (Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara and Elena Ruscombe-King)
Tough (Jennifer Zheng)

EE Rising Star Award
Laia Costa
Lucas Hedges
Tom Holland
Ruth Negga
Anya Taylor-Joy