Monday, 9 January 2017


Nothing shocking, given that these first ever awards from the Chicago Independent Film Critics Circle are based on their first ever nominations. Makes sense, right? And nothing shocking in their choices of winners either, as La La Land and Moonlight both win big - the former especially - or about as big as a film can win with a group like the CIFCC. And here you go:

Best Director
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)

Best Actress
Natalie Portman (Jackie)

Best Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis (Fences)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)

Best Original Screenplay
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)

Best Cinematography
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)

Best Editing
Tom Cross (La La Land)

Best Production Design
David Wasco (La La Land)

Best Costume Design
Anna Biller (The Love Witch)
Madeline Fontaine (Jackie)

Best Visual Effects
Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould (Doctor Strange)

Best Makeup
Jason Hamer (Swiss Army Man)

Best Original Score
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)

Best Ensemble Cast
Mahershala Ali, Patrick Decile, Naomie Harris, Alex R. Hibbert, Andre Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monae, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes and Ashton Sanders (Moonlight)

Best Studio Film
La La Land (Fred Berger, Gary Gilbert, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt)

Best Independent Film
Moonlight (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Adele Romanski)

Best Micro-Budget Film
The Fits (Anna Rose Holmer and Lisa Kjerulff)

Best Animated Film
Kubo and the Two Strings (Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner)

Best Documentary
O.J.: Made in America (Ezra Edelman, Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell and Caroline Waterlow)

Best Foreign Film
The Handmaiden (Syd Lum and Park Chan Wook)

Best Chicago Film
Southside with You (Tika Sumpter, Richard Tanne and Robert Teitel)

Best Undistributed Film
Atmo Horrox (Patmo Tremblay)

Best Short Film
Piper (Marc Sondheimer)

Impact Award
Ava DuVernay (13th)
Charles Musser and Jacqueline Stewart (Pioneers of African-American Cinema)

Trailblazer Award
Anna Biller (The Love Witch)
Yorgos Lanthimos (The Lobster)