Tuesday, 5 January 2016


It'll surprise few that Mad Max: Fury Road, currently the overall favourite from critics awards and polls for the 2015-16 awards season, leads the nominations for the Georgia Film Critics Association's awards. It's a fine choice from the group, and I find no fault in their general snub of The Hateful Eight and a highly deserved credit for The Assassin in Best Cinematography. But a mere four mentions for Carol over at least 12 eligible categories is shameful, if wholly expected among Southern / Midwestern critics groups. Winners will be revealed on the 8th of January. Have a look at all the nominations below:

Best Picture
Ex Machina
Inside Out
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Best Director
Lenny Abrahamson (Room)
Ryan Coogler (Creed)
Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Ridley Scott (The Martian)

Best Actor
Matt Damon (The Martian)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
Michael B. Jordan (Creed)
Jason Segel (The End of the Tour)

Best Actress
Emily Blunt (Sicario)
Blythe Danner (I’ll See You in My Dreams)
Brie Larson (Room)
Rooney Mara (Carol)
Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)
Charlize Theron (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Supporting Actor
Benicio del Toro (Sicario)
Mark Ruffalo (Spotlight)
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
Sylvester Stallone (Creed)
Jacob Tremblay (Room)

Best Supporting Actress
Elizabeth Banks (Love & Mercy)
Rose Byrne (Spy)
Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)
Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)

Best Original Screenplay
Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Bridge of Spies)
Josh Cooley, Pete Docter and Meg LeFauve (Inside Out)
Alex Garland (Ex Machina)
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Taylor Sheridan (Sicario)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Emma Donoghue (Room)
Drew Goddard (The Martian)
Nick Hornby (Brooklyn)
Donald Margulies (The End of the Tour)
Adam McKay and Charles Randolph (The Big Short)
Aaron Sorkin (Steve Jobs)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Sicario)
Edward Lachman (Carol)
Lee Ping Bin (The Assassin)
Emmanuel Lubezki (The Revenant)
John Seale (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Production Design
Judy Becker and Jesse Rosenthal (Carol)
Alastair Bullock, Rick Carter, Darren Gilford and Gary Tomkins (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)
Mark Digby, Katrina MacKay and Denis Schnegg (Ex Machina)
Colin Gibson, Shira Hockman and Jacinta Leong (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Irene O’Brien, Robert Parle and François Séguin (Brooklyn)

Best Original Score
Tom Holkenborg (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Jóhann Jóhannsson (Sicario)
Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight)
Thomas Newman (Bridge of Spies)
John Williams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Original Song
Leon Bridges – ‘So Long’ (Concussion)
Andrew Cedar, Justin Franks, Charlie Puth and Cameron Thomaz – ‘See You Again’ (Furious 7)
Keegan DeWitt – ‘I’ll See You in My Dreams’ (I’ll See You in My Dreams)
Stefani Germanotta and Diane Warren – ‘’Til It Happens to You’ (The Hunting Ground)
David Lang – ‘Simple Song #3’ (Youth)

Best Ensemble
The Big Short
Mad Max: Fury Road
Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Straight Outta Compton

Best Animated Film
The Good Dinosaur
Inside Out
The Peanuts Movie
Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Documentary
Best of Enemies
Finders Keepers
Frame by Frame
The Look of Silence

Best Foreign Film
The Assassin
Labyrinth of Lies
The Look of Silence
Son of Saul

Breakthrough Award
Abraham Attah (Beasts of No Nation)
Alex Garland (Ex Machina)
Daisy Ridley (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)
Jacob Tremblay (Room)
Alicia Vikander (Burnt / The Danish Girl / Ex Machina / The Man from U.N.C.L.E.)