Tuesday, 27 December 2016


For we few weirdos who endure nine months of the year awaiting the commencement of awards season, the end of that year is often accompanied by a tinge of disappointment - the bulk of that busiest period within the season, the critics' awards phase, is over for the most part. So it's with much satisfaction that we should receive a post-Christmas treat each year in the form of the Online Film Critics Society awards. Their 2016 nominations have just been announced, and they're as reliably solid as ever they are. Winners will be declared on the 3rd of January.

Best Picture
The Handmaiden
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea
O.J.: Made in America
The Witch

Best Director
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Pablo Larrain (Jackie)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Actress
Amy Adams (Arrival)
Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Adam Driver (Paterson)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis (Fences)
Lily Gladstone (Certain Women)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Tom Bennett (Love & Friendship)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Original Screenplay
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos (The Lobster)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Noah Oppenheim (Jackie)
Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)

Best Adapted Screenplay
David Birke and Philippe Djian (Elle)
Ted Chiang and Eric Heisserer (Arrival)
Tom Ford (Nocturnal Animals)
Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)
Whit Stillman (Love & Friendship)

Best Cinematography
Natasha Braier (The Neon Demon)
Stephane Fontaine (Jackie)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Linus Sandgren (La La Land)
Bradford Young (Arrival)

Best Editing
Nels Bangerter (Cameraperson)
Tom Cross (La La Land)
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders (Moonlight)
Sebastian Sepulveda (Jackie)
Joe Walker (Arrival)

Best Animated Feature
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
The Red Turtle

Best Documentary
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America

Best Film Not in the English Language
The Handmaiden
The Salesman
Toni Erdmann

Best Non-U.S. Releas
After the Storm
The Death of Louis XIV
The Girl with All the Gifts
Personal Shopper
A Quiet Passion
Staying Vertical
The Unknown Girl
Yourself and Yours

No comments:

Post a Comment